Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

K&B Engines... Tell your experiences

Community
Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

K&B Engines... Tell your experiences

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2002, 11:35 PM
ovalthrasher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K&B Engines... Tell your experiences

Just want to hear from owners of K&B engines. How you like them and what problems have you had.
Old 02-22-2002, 12:08 AM
RCPilot100
My Feedback: (4)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default K&B

My buddy had one. I tried to help him get it running correctly. Never could.

Now you gotta realize my background - worked my way through college getting Engineering degree working on cars. Got first job out of school working in an engine plant - worked everywhere from machining blocks, heads, pistons all the way to assembly -hot test - engine / vehicle testing - control systems. I had been doing this for 15 years at the time Roger bought a K&B.

I could have designed, machined, and fine tuned an engine from a block of metal in the time I screwed around with Roger's K&B trying to get it to run.

One day an obnoxious club member who flew helicopters said he could get it running - after all, helicopter engines had to run perfectly. So the butthead did his thing for 45 minutes and gave up - said he could get it running correctly given enough time. Al went over, started his helo, went up about 75 feet and flamed out. What he picked up off the ground didn't much look like a helicopter anymore.

The best thing I can say about that particular K&B engine was that someone bought it for $35.00 at a swap meet. Roger told him it didn't run right, but they guy who bought it knew all about engines and said he could fix it.

Dan
Old 02-22-2002, 12:14 AM
Rocketman612
My Feedback: (85)

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default K&B engines

They take alittle more work to break them in but once you do they are solid. Pete