Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 07:33 PM
  #1
rfk1381
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Crowley, TX
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

I need a replacement carburetor (primarily the carb body) for a veteran, original OS .91 Surpass. I accidentally dropped the engine on a concrete floor and bent the needle valve assembly and the carb body where the needle assembly attaches. Tower Hobbies does not carry the carb body for the OS .91 Surpass (out of production).

Does anyone have a clunker (original) OS.91 Surpass or carburetor for sale? I just hate to toss such a good running engine because I can't find a replacement carb!

Thanks in advance! ...Ron
rfk1381 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:39 PM
  #2
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

Try one for the Magnum 91 FS?
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:56 PM
  #3
MILDBILL-RCU
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ROCKWELL, NC
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

I have done as you in the past. Dropping or crashing & ruining a housing. I just cover the end of the carb housing where the needle valve housing threads into the carb, & just used a remote needle valve assembly. Works like a charm. Remote needles can be gotton for less than $20.00. Much cheaper than a carb. Bill
MILDBILL-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:00 PM
  #4
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

Here's the Magnum carb

http://www.hobbypeople.net/index.php...-70-91-fs.html
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 09:57 PM
  #5
rfk1381
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Crowley, TX
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

Thanks folks for some great alternatives!!
rfk1381 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:35 AM
  #6
Tfloyd
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

I have the carb housing for a Surpass 91 (see attached picture) minus the needle valve, and plastic pushrod arm. If you are interested let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18716.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	182.8 KB
ID:	1495582  
Tfloyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:03 AM
  #7
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tfloyd

I have the carb housing for a Surpass 91 (see attached picture) minus the needle valve, and plastic pushrod arm. If you are interested let me know.
This is the Surpass II. I thought he needed a Surpass I carb?

w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:51 AM
  #8
Tfloyd
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

You're probably right. Thaught maybe this carb body might help but if it's the wrong type I guess not....
Tfloyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 02:54 PM
  #9
rfk1381
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Crowley, TX
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

Thanks for the offer for a Supass carb, but I think it looks like a version II.

I will install a remote needle valve.

...Ron
rfk1381 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:18 AM
  #10
vonhouzen
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

I know this is a few years old but was wondering if the surpass 2 carby fits to the surpass 1 cover plate and marrys up with the inlet pipe??
vonhouzen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:54 PM
  #11
Kimhoff
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jefferson, MO
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need carb for original OS .91 Surpass

2 should fit the 1
Kimhoff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:56 PM.