RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Glow Engines (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-engines-114/)
-   -   how do you tell if you have bad fuel (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-engines-114/2967766-how-do-you-tell-if-you-have-bad-fuel.html)

outbackdean 05-12-2005 07:51 AM

how do you tell if you have bad fuel

How do you tell if you have bad fuel or bad ingredients eg -- Nitro , coolpower oil or methanol ??
I believe something is wrong with my fuelmix but how do I tell which one is to blame out of the three.
MY MIX IS 15% NITRO 20%OIL 65%METHANOL
I mix my own fuel because there is no retail outlets where I live the closest is 600km away.
I have been flying for 14 years with out ever having any trouble with any engines then or of a sudden all I get are dead sticks or my motors do not want to spin the prop that they where spinning before and the same rpm(can not get the same performance out of them.
SO BACK TO THE QUESTION HOW DO YOU TELL WHICH ingredient IS NO GOOD ?

Thanking you for any assistance
Outbackdean --Manually Fix-- Outback dean Outback-dean Outbacker Outbacks Outback Outback's Outbroken Unbacked (outback OZ)

w8ye 05-12-2005 08:26 AM

RE: how do you tell if you have bad fuel

The usual problem is the Methanol has absorbed water? If there was a lack of acetone or other stablizer, you wouldn't be able to get the needle set. It would be one click too rich or too lean.

Enjoy,

Jim

bako 05-12-2005 08:30 AM

u are adding some aceton in fuels? [X(][X(][X(]

ampa 05-12-2005 10:06 AM

the engine stop when you cut the current to the plug/can run only at full throttle/overheats/and of course poor performances

downunder 05-12-2005 10:22 AM