Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Kraft Spectrum info

Reply
Old 10-16-2010, 03:52 PM
  #1
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kraft Spectrum info

I am looking for a pin out on the module in a Kraft Spectrum 6 radio. I have one on 53.2 that I am interested in converting to 2.4 since I can't find what I did with the receivers on 53.2 AM. I think it would be great to fly this old transmitter on 2.4.

Thanks,
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:24 PM
  #2
CoosBayLumber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

As Phil Kraft died not too long ago, you need to travel over to SAM Talk at Yahoo, as someone there knew of what you are speaking. Takes forever to get ahold of the operators there too.

Wm.
CoosBayLumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:49 AM
  #3
Cherokee Flyer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rose Hill, KS
Posts: 372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

Try Radio South

L.
Cherokee Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:40 PM
  #4
aerowoof
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke, NH
Posts: 2,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

if the module in the spectrum is am then any am narrow band rx will work if fm then you can use jr or airtronics.I think I have a narrowband am on 52 something if interested let me know
aerowoof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:32 PM
  #5
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

Right now it is on 53.2 mHz AM. On 53 mHz there is no narrow band. The channels are spaced at 100kHz apart. I want to convert this to 2.4gHz. I was looking for info on the pin out for the internal module. I can find the modulation line with a scope if I can't get the info. I know some of the pins that go to the module control the voltage meter on the front of the transmitter. I would like to keep the meter functional even though I will remove the module and replace it with one of the hack modules avalable.

I love the feel of this transmitter and would like to give it a new life.

Thanks,
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:30 AM
  #6
roncoleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FPO AE, NY
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

The Kraft Spectrum was the best natural balanced transmitter ever made in my opinion.
You can hold that thing with just two fingers per hand and it would just sit there perfectly
level. I like the feel of this transmitter also. It’s also one of the hardest transmitters to
find modules for. Good luck on your conversion, maybe I'll give it a try once you are done.
Let me/us know how it turns out.

Ron
roncoleman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 06:46 AM
  #7
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

I have all the modifications done to the Kraft Spectrum 6. It has the FRsky DIY module in it. Other than a short antenna and a bind button it looks about the same. There were some modifications I had to do to get it to work with this module. I would be glad to share this information if anyone is interested.

The Kraft Spectrum 6 now works great on 2.4 gHz.

Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 01:30 AM
  #8
roncoleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FPO AE, NY
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

I for one would like to know your process and what mods you had to make
to get this transmitter to work with the FRsky DIY module. Would you have
any photos?

Ron
roncoleman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 09:06 AM
  #9
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

I can open up the transmitter and take some pics later (I'm at work now). I will try to write this up as follows:

You will need to open up the back of the transmitter. Pull out the module. You will see two rows of female pins in the transmitter that the module plugged into. Ignore the top small row. On the bottom row as you are looking at the back of the transmitter the right pin will be the + power. The center pin will be the modulation PPM line. The left pin will be the ground. I got a pin connector that would plug into the female connector in the Kraft transmitter to wire everything to.

On the FRsky (or Corona) hack module there will be 3 wires. + power, ground, and the PPM modulation input. DO NOT CONNECT THE PPM MODULATION INPUT TO THE CENTER PIN ABOVE FOR THE MODULATION OUTPUT OF THE TRANSMITTER!!!!

The PPM modulation output of a Kraft is inverted with respect to all the other popular transmitters on the market. Also the voltage swing on the Kraft is larger than the FRsky (or Corona) module wants to see. So the modification I needed to make is to invert the modulation PPM pulses and lower the voltage. I did this with a simple NPN transistor inverter and I used a 5 volt regulator on the collector. (If you need I can detail this.) So I built a little PCB with one transistor, a regulator, and a few resistors. This PCB must be connected to the power pins (per above) in the transmitter and the PPM modulation pin. The output of this PCB goes to the FRsky PPM modulation input line. The FRsky also gets it's power from the pins in the transmitter. (I have thought about a different way to do this would be to use a single op-amp as a inverter with negative gain. Any thoughts out there on this?)

The little PCB that inverts the signal I built up as small as I could. Seeing I was using parts that I had on hand, I used a larger regulator than I needed but it works. I enclosed the PCB with some heat shrink tubing with 4 wires coming out of it, +,-, PPM modulation input and PPM modulation (inverted) output. I put this little PCB under the PCB that the original Kraft module plugs into with double stick tape. I put the FRsky module with double sticky tape where the original Kraft module would be located. Once everything is wired and mounted there is one last step, mounting the bind pushbutton and LED PCB. FRsky unlike Corona does not give you a drilling template. I very carefully measured the centers between the LED and bind button to be .312 inch. I located this on the top of the transmitter between the antenna and the slider for channel 5. I drilled the two holes with a .130 inch drill on the top. Next I used two 2-56 screws and nuts to mount this assembly inside the transmitter.

Antenna....remove the Kraft assembly. The hole in the transmitter is too large for the FRsky antenna mount. Inside the transmitter I used a quarter inch washer and on the outside I used another quarter inch washer. The washer I used on the outside is thin copper and matches the gold look of the transmitter very nice. I got them at Lowes for pocket change. I put the original antenna ground lug into this assembly then fed through it the FRsky RF connector to be used as the antenna mount.

The original Kraft antenna wire (white) with a solder lug is still in the transmitter. I put a piece of heat shrink over the solder lug to insulate it and tucked it under the module mount PCB.

One of my goals in planning this out was to be able to put the transmitter back to 53.2 mHz if I wanted. The only thing I can not undo was drilling the holes for the bind button and LED. I don't think I will ever restore the transmitter back now. I am going to leave it on 2.4 gHz. I do have one more of these Kraft Spectrum 6 transmitters to think about doing a modification to.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you need more information. This can be done in a weekend once you have all the parts for a low cost. I hope I didn't get too detailed but I don't know your background so more info is better than not enough. I've also done a Kraft series 74 for a good friend and it involved similar work.

There is a thread in RCG that is over 100 pages long on the FRsky hack DIY module. Lots of good info there.

Happy Holidays,
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 09:58 AM
  #10
jeffie8696
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

And when you are done it looks like this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt55956.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	230.4 KB
ID:	1535237  
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 09:55 AM
  #11
roncoleman
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FPO AE, NY
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

Pete,

Congrats on the conversion. Have you flown it yet? Everything you've done
sound pretty easy but I may need a schematic showing resistor values, their
location in the circuit, and the location of the four wires. I should be able to
work it from there. I was surprised at the price of the 2.4 module you used.
Looks like a cheap way to go to 2.4 ghz and bring life back to one of your
old loved transmitters.

Ron
roncoleman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:39 PM
  #12
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kraft Spectrum info

Ron

I have not flown the system yet but I have done range checks that are great. The last range check I put the receiver on a block of wood in the bed of my truck and it worked great. I would have thought that the bed of the truck would have blocked a lot of the signal but it was not problem.

I will send you a PM about me getting you some drawings to do the modifications I have done.

Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 06:56 PM
  #13
ace_drummond
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by modeltronics View Post
I can open up the transmitter and take some pics later (I'm at work now). I will try to write this up as follows:

You will need to open up the back of the transmitter. Pull out the module. You will see two rows of female pins in the transmitter that the module plugged into. Ignore the top small row. On the bottom row as you are looking at the back of the transmitter the right pin will be the + power. The center pin will be the modulation PPM line. The left pin will be the ground. I got a pin connector that would plug into the female connector in the Kraft transmitter to wire everything to.

On the FRsky (or Corona) hack module there will be 3 wires. + power, ground, and the PPM modulation input. DO NOT CONNECT THE PPM MODULATION INPUT TO THE CENTER PIN ABOVE FOR THE MODULATION OUTPUT OF THE TRANSMITTER!!!!

The PPM modulation output of a Kraft is inverted with respect to all the other popular transmitters on the market. Also the voltage swing on the Kraft is larger than the FRsky (or Corona) module wants to see. So the modification I needed to make is to invert the modulation PPM pulses and lower the voltage. I did this with a simple NPN transistor inverter and I used a 5 volt regulator on the collector. (If you need I can detail this.) So I built a little PCB with one transistor, a regulator, and a few resistors. This PCB must be connected to the power pins (per above) in the transmitter and the PPM modulation pin. The output of this PCB goes to the FRsky PPM modulation input line. The FRsky also gets it's power from the pins in the transmitter. (I have thought about a different way to do this would be to use a single op-amp as a inverter with negative gain. Any thoughts out there on this?)

The little PCB that inverts the signal I built up as small as I could. Seeing I was using parts that I had on hand, I used a larger regulator than I needed but it works. I enclosed the PCB with some heat shrink tubing with 4 wires coming out of it, +,-, PPM modulation input and PPM modulation (inverted) output. I put this little PCB under the PCB that the original Kraft module plugs into with double stick tape. I put the FRsky module with double sticky tape where the original Kraft module would be located. Once everything is wired and mounted there is one last step, mounting the bind pushbutton and LED PCB. FRsky unlike Corona does not give you a drilling template. I very carefully measured the centers between the LED and bind button to be .312 inch. I located this on the top of the transmitter between the antenna and the slider for channel 5. I drilled the two holes with a .130 inch drill on the top. Next I used two 2-56 screws and nuts to mount this assembly inside the transmitter.

Antenna....remove the Kraft assembly. The hole in the transmitter is too large for the FRsky antenna mount. Inside the transmitter I used a quarter inch washer and on the outside I used another quarter inch washer. The washer I used on the outside is thin copper and matches the gold look of the transmitter very nice. I got them at Lowes for pocket change. I put the original antenna ground lug into this assembly then fed through it the FRsky RF connector to be used as the antenna mount.

The original Kraft antenna wire (white) with a solder lug is still in the transmitter. I put a piece of heat shrink over the solder lug to insulate it and tucked it under the module mount PCB.

One of my goals in planning this out was to be able to put the transmitter back to 53.2 mHz if I wanted. The only thing I can not undo was drilling the holes for the bind button and LED. I don't think I will ever restore the transmitter back now. I am going to leave it on 2.4 gHz. I do have one more of these Kraft Spectrum 6 transmitters to think about doing a modification to.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you need more information. This can be done in a weekend once you have all the parts for a low cost. I hope I didn't get too detailed but I don't know your background so more info is better than not enough. I've also done a Kraft series 74 for a good friend and it involved similar work.

There is a thread in RCG that is over 100 pages long on the FRsky hack DIY module. Lots of good info there.

Happy Holidays,
Pete

I hope you can help me.

Definately not electronics person per se.

I have Kraft Series 79 7C want to install new FRSky DHT.

Have definately found the +/_ and yellow wire for the ppm.

It binds the RX but does not operate the controls.

Suspect I have problem you are describing here.

Can you draw me a picture of what I need to construct showing hookup please?

Thanks//
ace_drummond is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:43 PM
  #14
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will send you a PM
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 09:26 PM
  #15
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ace,
I sent you a PM. After thinking about it I might know why yours does not work. First the PPM signal from your Kraft is not what the FRSky wants to see. It is sending the bind info to your receiver but it can not understand the PPM from your Kraft it is getting. Do not feed the Kraft PPM to the FRSky module. You might damage it. I damaged one trying to do that. You need to look at the Kraft PPM signal on a scope and see if it is going to the + battery voltage (and see if it is inverted). If it is you need to do the same modification I had to do on the two Kraft transmitters I modified. This makes the PPM signal into something the FRSky can understand. I have not had my hands on a series 79 but if it is designed the same as the two Kraft radios I have modified then my guess is you will have to make the same modifications I did. I have the sketch of the modification I did. It is not a pretty sketch but it has a diagram of what I did. I need your email and I will scan in the sketch to send to you. Send me a PM with your email.
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:07 AM
  #16
flicka5
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Jamestown, NY
Posts: 659
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pete,
Can you send me your schematic for inverting the signal and reducing the voltage using the Frsky 2.4 DIY? Also, would this work for the older Kraft AM transmitters?
Thanks, Flicka5
flicka5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 07:34 AM
  #17
modeltronics
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cross Plains, TX
Posts: 362
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

flicka5
Send me a PM with your Email and I will email it to you as an attachment. My guess is it is about $5 worth of parts. It's very easy to build and should work for your Kraft.
Pete
modeltronics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:35 PM.