Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Rigging?

Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 12:30 PM
  #1
waditup1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: statesville, NC
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rigging?

Hello
Todays question is for the old timey plane fan . I have a Gyspy Moth that has no rigging wires.I want to put some on just my wing struts. I have asked at several shops about the hardware to do this.I see other planes with this and they always say it came with the kit. I need the little brass fittings to tie the wires in.I have looked on the net and I have not foud what I think I need..Has anybody got a hint.
Thankyou
Waditup
waditup1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:51 PM
  #2
TommyWatson
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pendle HillNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rigging?

You could try these. Expensive but very scale.
http://www.flying-wires.ch/flying-wires/index.html
Regards
TommyWatson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:08 PM
  #3
jfuller
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rigging?

Hi,

You might check out Dubro's web site. I know that they used to offer wire and crimps. The crimps are not much more than small tubing but they work well.

JamesF
jfuller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:06 PM
  #4
waditup1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: statesville, NC
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rigging?

Thank You.
Waditup


waditup1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:25 PM
  #5
MajorTomski
 
MajorTomski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 2,529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rigging?

For my BUSA Fokker E-90 I used dubro soldered wire ends:

http://shop.dubro.com/products/produ...5.0.0.0?pp=12&

Pounded the round end flat and drilled a smooth hole through the flat. Then used a normal clevis to attach the cable at both ends. I used 40 pound test fishing line more for looks than for actuall strength.

If I was going for strength I'd go with U/C control lines.

I can add pics if you'd like
MajorTomski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:39 AM
  #6
BruceTharpe
 
BruceTharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rogue River, OR
Posts: 670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rigging?

Proctor Enterprises
http://www.proctor-enterprises.com/p...e/hardware.htm
BruceTharpe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:01 AM.