Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC
Reload this Page >

How do I cover with silk?

Community
Search
Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

How do I cover with silk?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2006, 11:24 AM
tango charlie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I cover with silk?

I want to cover my plane with silk and dope, but I've never done it before. Is there a website that gives some basic pointers to get me started? What weight of silk should I use on a Sig Kadet Sr.? Is "tissue" and Silkspan the same as silk? Can I get a nice finish by brushing or should I set up a spray booth?
Thanks guys.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:24 PM
Jim Thomerson

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: How do I cover with silk?

Take a look at this thread.http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_2923599/tm.htm
Old 10-27-2006, 09:29 AM
LesUyeda
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Go here. It is worth the trip.

https://www.modelaircraft.org/Member...ge_article.htm

Model Aviation. October 1993

Les
Old 10-28-2006, 08:37 AM
GWILLIE

Just 1 hint. Go over the area you are going to cover with a light sanding. If you are covering over an open framework, use a long sanding block to get the tops of the ribs or cap strips smooth and even. The slightest rough spot will snag the silk and may cause a runner or at the least, look bad when you are finished.

The Goldberg Skylane 42 was silk and doped about 1965.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10154.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	549805  
Old 12-11-2006, 12:51 PM
Laird SS