Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Full Scale planes, cars, helis, boats > Helicopters - Full Scale
Reload this Page >

Have an odd request for anyone with knowledge of building model helicopters!

Community
Search
Notices
Helicopters - Full Scale Discuss full scale helicopters here

Have an odd request for anyone with knowledge of building model helicopters!

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2010, 08:27 PM
weirkd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Have an odd request for anyone with knowledge of building model helicopters!

Hi All!
Im actually not a hobby flyer or enthusiast! Im a cake artist on a mission! I know, sounds crazy! But Im trying to make a grooms cake for my nephews wedding. He is a helicopter mechanic for the Navy and is taking flying lessons to become a pilot for the Lifestar. I really want him to be wowed by the cake so I would like to make a cake that has moving propellars! Does anyone have any idea what kind of parts I would need to accomplish this?It would have to have the motor hidden either under the cake or under a stand so it wouldnt show. And it would have to be run by battery since the venue will not have a way for me to plug it in.
My brother who is a hobby builder of boats and things said that it could be done. He mentioned that I would need a longer part than normal to attach the propellar on.
If anyone could help me out I would really appreciate it! His wedding is in two weeks so I want to get this part of it all set!

Thanks guys!

Old 09-13-2010, 01:33 PM
Superconductor

Default RE: Have an odd request for anyone with knowledge of building model helicopters!

Hi .. How to actually do that would depend on the parts you had available or could get hold of.
The least you would need is a small DC motor a long shaft a propellor (or) rotor and some small collets to hold it together.

Mounted in a base or stand under the cake..
A quick mooch around your local hobby store might get you the bits.