Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 23 of 23

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Axe CP E board settings

    Fried an eboard the other day, installed a new one and Im having a heck of a time getting it set right, cant seem to slow the tail motor down, any ideas???
    Thanks
    Al

  2. #2
    PilotLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Benton Harbor, MI
    Posts
    1,027
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    What is it set at now?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    IM not sure exactly, but i think I have the gain right but the dam thing, I dunno, the tail just seems out of control, lots of speed right which i want to slow down, i get it in the air and its impossible to control!

  4. #4
    PilotLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Benton Harbor, MI
    Posts
    1,027
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Looking at my old Eboard, with the pots on the left side:

    The top pot turns around without stopping, so I can't tell you where to set it.

    The middle pot will turn from 10 o'clock CW around to about 8 o'clock. Mine's set to about 6 o'clock.

    The bottom pot has the same end points and is set to about 2 o'clock.

    Be sure your wires are connected to the proper slots on the receiver.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    K, I think I may have them in the wrong spots, you dont happen to have a diagram do you?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Well i cooked another eboard, what a peice of S&*t, wondering if a eflite 4n1 will work on this money pit????

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    48
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Try using 2 Eagle 30A brushed esc's and an inexpensive gyro.

    30A for the tail motor is overkill, but these escs are very inexpensive,
    so you pay a little weight penalty.

    You can get these parts at www.hobbyking.com.

    Tower sells lighter but much more expensive brushed escs.

    The latest Telebee headlock gyro works well.

    Let me know if you'd like more info or a pic of one of my Axe's
    that is set up this way.


  8. #8
    PilotLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Benton Harbor, MI
    Posts
    1,027
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Here's an image from Towerhobbies:



    Turn the middle one all the way clockwise until it stops, then back it off until it is vertical like the picture shows.

    Turn the bottom one horizontal (it can only be horizontal one way and can't be upsidedown), and then turn it Counterclockwise until it is pointing at about 2 o'clock.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ol31281.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	37.0 KB 
ID:	1184675  

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    A pic would be great, thanks!!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    No pic my freind??

  11. #11
    PilotLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Benton Harbor, MI
    Posts
    1,027
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings


    ORIGINAL: albramley

    No pic my freind??
    Alright, I uploaded a pic instead of linking to one on Tower's site. Also, I added little red marks where mine are set to. Be sure you still have your eboard mounted vertically.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    133
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Dont feel bad,Im on my second eboard,but I didnt have to pay for it...................
    It\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\' \'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'s all fun and games,til it cant fly anymore......
    CPv3,CPv2,Walkera HM53Q,Blade 400,and now,a CX3

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Thanks Pilot, U da man!! lol

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    48
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Here are a few pics of an Axe I modified to run with 2 Eagle 30A esc's and a Telebee gyro.

    The port esc runs the main motor.

    If you do this, remember to remove the red pin from the plug where the tail motor esc plugs into the gyro. The gyro gets its power from the receiver,
    which gets its power from the main motor esc. This is covered in the later Axe manuals.

    This Axe has a Futaba receiver. I have not tried this setup with an Axe receiver, but it should work.

    About the front of the frame - I cut away the frame so a 1300 mAh lipo would fit as shown. The
    canopy mounts with plenty of room and the cg is very close to perfect.

    All in all, this Axe is really a pleasure to fly. The 7 channel Futaba radio works well and the dual rate/exponential settings
    make the Axe much easier to fly.

    The Eagle esc's are available from www.hobbyking.com.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ki18970.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	61.1 KB 
ID:	1186536   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nl30183.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	59.9 KB 
ID:	1186537   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fd90684.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	48.7 KB 
ID:	1186538   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om33449.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	47.8 KB 
ID:	1186539  

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Thanks JemFlyer, I think I will give this a try, how tough was it to wire? Sorry to be a pain but Im done with the eboards!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    48
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Al,

    Each esc has 4 single wires and a 3 wire cable hooked to a servo connector.

    For the single wires, 2 go to the battery and 2 go to the motor, main or tail.

    So you have 8 single wires plus 2 three wire servo connectors to deal with.

    I soldered the battery connections to a Dean's plug as shown in the pics, both positive battery connections
    to one tab, and both negative battery connections to the other battery plug tab. This takes care of 4 wires.

    For the main motor esc, I soldered bullet connectors on the two output wires going to the main motor, as on the stock Axe.

    For the 2 output wires from the tail motor esc, I used a small Dean's connector as used on the stock Axe.

    OK, you've dealt with the 8 single wires

    Plug the main motor esc servo connector into channel 3 of the receiver, where the 3 in 1 plugs in on the stock Axe.
    This connection powers the receiver and all the servos and the gyro from the BEC (battery eliminator circuit)
    built into the esc.

    The servo connector from the tail motor esc is going to plug into the after market gyro. The gyro will also have a
    servo connector that plugs into channel 4 of the receiver, where the orange wire goes on a stock Axe.

    The instructions in the Axe manual for installing a gyro tell you to remove the red wire pin from the tail motor esc
    connector that plugs into the gyro. There is a little plastic tab on the servo connector you can lift up with eg
    an exacto knife and the red wire pin is easy to pull out. You can see where I've taped the red wire in the pics.

    So the ground and control wires from the tail motor esc are hooked to the gyro and this is how the gyro controls the
    tail motor.

    Good luck, and I'd like to see your pics if you make these modifications.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Thanks again, I need to order the parts, or try and pick them up locally here, so hopefully this week, Cannot thank you enough or your help.
    Have a great weekend!!!

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    I hooked up the Eflite 4n1 with some creative wiring, and by gawd it seems to work, had to reverse the polarity on the motor, but Ive ran it up with full control, Who Knew!!! I havent had it off the ground yet but if all is as it seems, no reason at this point why it wont work!!!
    Cheers
    Al

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Strathmore, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    108
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Flys Great, better control than with the pricy ebaords! Im a happy feller!!!!

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , FL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings



    I saw your mod for the Helimax AXE CP and would like it if you could please give me a little information on how to do that as I fried my Eboard and dont want to pay Helimax 84 bucks various times. I have read many people having trouble with the Helimax AXECPEboard and would just like to change it out.


  21. #21

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , FL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings



    Ishould have just asked you if you used the Helimax stock transmitter or something else? also please just a parts needed list.


  22. #22

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , FL
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings



    Since this is my first Helicopter and used it about 15 times can I use a cheap Gyro as I saw on Ebay there are some for like 10 bucks.


  23. #23

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    , MI
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Axe CP E board settings

    Just wondering how you made out with your Axe CP. Mine fried the E-board a few days ago. I had already done the upgrade to the Futaba gyro and separate ESC for the tail rotor, so I'm trying to figure out if I can just install a 25 amp ESC to replace to crappy (and pricey) E-board that everyone seems to have so much trouble with. If the Futaba gyro upgrade replaces the original gyro and mixing functions, why would I need the original 3-in-1 E-board?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.