Community
Search
Notices
Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Hitec 5955 problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2005, 09:22 PM
cwoodstx
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hitec 5955 problems

I received 4 Hitec 5955 servos last week and for the last 2 days have been trying to get them setup on a 28% Edge rudder using pull-pull. I have been using Hitec servos with the programmer for 2 years now on many different planes, so I don't think my problems are user error - at least not in this case. I have so far tried 2 of the 4 servos.

The problems I have encountered are:
1) the servo exhibits a pulsed jitter at the end points, I had to reduce the end points to where the servo arm (as measured from the spine) had less than 50 degrees of throw before the pulsed jitter stopped. In contrast my 5945 servos will go 70+ degrees with no issues.
2) in addition to the pulsed jitter at the end points the servo will jitter in the midrange at random locations. I even tried voltages below 6V and the jitter remains.
3) The second servo I tried, in addition to the above problems, would lock in the full throw position for 1-2 seconds, then return to center. This was even after I reduced the end points to produce only 45 degrees of rotation on the servo arm. Once this problem started it was easy to reproduce.

Additional information:
1) Before I noticed the version 1.04 sticker on the first servo, I had reset servo #1 with the programmer before I started setting center and end points. On the 2nd servo I did not do a reset, I just set the center and end points - thinking the 1.03 software on the programmer was incompatible with the 5955. This did not make any difference.
2) I tried different DB settings between 1 and 5 – no difference.
3) I tried loosening and tightening the pull-pull wires – no difference.