Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Servo Extension Cables with Filters

Reply
Old 07-28-2007, 01:55 PM
  #1
thisoldhaunt
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: , MI
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo Extension Cables with Filters

Hello,

I am new to servo's (425BB) and need to use some extension cables. I need 60" of additional length and have seen cables advertised with filters built in them. They look to be soldered and heat shrink"ed" to the wire/wires.

Here are my questions...

1) What is the actual "filter" made of?

2) Should I add filters to my homemade extension cables?

3) If I should add them can someone please provide me with a part number that I can use at mouser.com or digikey.com AND supply the schematic for adding it?

3) I want to add an additional 60" of wire to the servo. Since I am making my own cables of Hitec bulk wire can I simply cut the servo connector that came with the servo off, add a "filter" where appropriate, and solder/heat shrink the additional 60" of wire to the servo cable OR should the filter be in the center of the cable? I would think that a solder connection is better than a servo extension connection.

4) If weight and size is not an issue would a ferrite core with the extension wrapped once through it be fine?

5) If ferrite core is fine should the core be located in the center (length wise) of the extension wire or closer to the servo itself?


Thanks

thisoldhaunt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 08:03 PM
  #2
3Thumbflyer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Citronelle, AL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo Extension Cables with Filters

Check out the noise filter on this site:

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/gadgets/gadgets.htm

Keep em flying
3Thumbflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 10:01 AM
  #3
bob_nj
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 3,847
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo Extension Cables with Filters

Here are three links to extensions.
Some say filter, one says amplifier.

[link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXDKP6]Tower[/link]

[link=http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdID=JRPA133]Horizon Amplified[/link]

[link=http://www.chiefaircraft.com/rcmsec/Models/RadioControl/Expert/ExpertServoExtensions.html]Expert Filtered[/link]



I have an example of the expert with filter, and the JR with amplifier and they are the same chip when you take off the shrink
wrap. Can't recall the chip number right now, but if you like I can get it for you when I get home.

JR used to recommend the "amplifier" with their older ZPCM radios when using long extension runs.
The others use the word filter when using long runs.

It does seem odd and confusing doesn't it?

I've use the JR "Y" with a 10x which is not ZPCM and it worked fine.
I'm not recommending it, just commenting on the fact that I did it unknowingly and it worked fine in a 35% model.

1. The two examples I've seen are a chip.
2. Not sure if you should add filters or not. I've made my own extensions longer than what you are needing, but I use a Powerbox which amplifies and filters the signal to the servo.
3. Can get it for you later if you like.
4. Not sure how to answer this. Here is the latest offering from Horizon -> [link=http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdID=JRPA029]Ring[/link]
I bought several ferrite rings from Horizon a couple of years ago that are still in the package, but I don't see them offered anymore.
5. I'll see if there are any instructions in my packages.

I suppose some of your questions depend on your set up.
How many servos, how many receivers, are you using a powerbus, etc?


Good luck
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 03:57 PM
  #4
Ed Sidders
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ore City, TX
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo Extension Cables with Filters

In the past we just twisted the extension wire if there was a problem , lots of fancy stuff out there now if you need it but I'd try the twist first.
Ed Sidders is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:46 PM.