Hitec/MultiPlex Radios- Ask Hitec Customer Service Ask Hitec/MultiPlex Customer Service your Radio questions here.

Hitec 2.4 conversion

Reply
Old 04-26-2009, 12:28 PM
  #1
bkdavy
Thread Starter
 
bkdavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FrederickMD
Posts: 2,114
Default Hitec 2.4 conversion

I've been looking for information about the new Hitec 2.4 systems that will hopefully be available in May/June this year. I have a new Optic 6 that I really don't want to get rid of. Will Hitec be offering any conversion deals (e.g. transmitter conversion module and several Optima 6 recievers at a discount price? Would be a great marketing tool for us loyal Hitec users.

Brad
bkdavy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:48 PM
  #2
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bkdavy I've been looking for information about the new Hitec 2.4 systems that will hopefully be available in May/June this year. I have a new Optic 6 that I really don't want to get rid of. Will Hitec be offering any conversion deals (e.g. transmitter conversion module and several Optima 6 recievers at a discount price? Would be a great marketing tool for us loyal Hitec users. Brad
Existing Threads
HITEC / MPX issued 2.4G system
HITEC 2.4GHz issued !!! Extensive thread

Hitec:Radio Module/Receiver Combos - Spread Spectrum Tower (amongst other retailers) already advertising.

other information
Hitec and Multiplex 2009 Catalogues
Spectra 2.4/Optima 7 Combo
Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:42 PM
  #3
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bkdavy

I've been looking for information about the new Hitec 2.4 systems that will hopefully be available in May/June this year. I have a new Optic 6 that I really don't want to get rid of. Will Hitec be offering any conversion deals (e.g. transmitter conversion module and several Optima 6 recievers at a discount price? Would be a great marketing tool for us loyal Hitec users.

Brad
The best deal will be the package with the module and 2 receivers. The first package out will be with the 7CH RX's for $129.99. The 6CH combo will be $114.99. We may offer muliptle Rx packages but nothing has announced yet.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 02:36 PM
  #4
Pit-Viper 1
 
Pit-Viper 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Butte, MT
Posts: 1,625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

I read somewhere that the optima6 2.4 is compatible with futuba 2.4 transmitters. Also I have an old futuba 8UA, will the module and receiver work for this?

Thanks Shane
Pit-Viper 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 12:06 PM
  #5
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

The Hitec module will fit into Futaba radios unless they use the new smaller module. Howerver, the Hitec 2.4ghz module is not compatible with any other 2.4Ghz receivers you would have to use RX's with it.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 04:38 PM
  #6
Pit-Viper 1
 
Pit-Viper 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Butte, MT
Posts: 1,625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

What I'm wondering is if the Optima 6 2.4 is compatible with my fast radio, I have the futuba 6EX 2.4, will be upgradeing to the 10C soon.

Thanks Shane
Pit-Viper 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:52 PM
  #7
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

No , there are no 2.4ghz systems that are compatilble with each other unless they use the exact same technology (i.e. Spektrum/JR.)

You might consider that the new Aurora that will be available late next month has much more capability than the 10C for less cost. For $429.99 you can get the Aurora with the receiver plus we're giving away a free receiver as a bonus. Receivers will range in cost from $49.99 - $99.99 which is much less exppensive than the Futaba offerings.

If you haven't seen the videos for this radio go here to learn more about it. http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_8861187/tm.htm

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 02:59 PM
  #8
oldvet70
 
oldvet70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 694
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Mike is the Spectra 2.4/Optima 7 Combo going to work with my old Prism 7X that has the module in the Tx or is the Tx just too old?
oldvet70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 04:29 PM
  #9
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: oldvet70

Mike is the Spectra 2.4/Optima 7 Combo going to work with my old Prism 7X that has the module in the Tx or is the Tx just too old?

It will be compatible.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:27 PM
  #10
oldvet70
 
oldvet70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 694
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Thanks. Thats really good news!
oldvet70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:06 AM
  #11
wheelsdown
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Hi,
I have a Prism 7. It says nothing on the case about a 7x model. I just received the Optima combo system yesterday and it does not work. The tx module will not go into the set up mode when the little button is pushed. The LED stays red and does not blink. I have other 2.4 modules that work in this transmitter such as Corona and ASSAN. I talked to someone at Hitec, I think his name was Tony, and he indicated that the Optima unit might not work in this Prism 7. Nothing was said about it not working in Hitec adverts. What gives here if you know?
Regards

Just to add a little, I have followed the power up set up, that is: Hold the button in then turn on the tx then let up on the button. Light does not blink, just stays on red.
I will try it in a friends transmitter Tuesday.
wheelsdown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 11:34 AM
  #12
Pit-Viper 1
 
Pit-Viper 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Butte, MT
Posts: 1,625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MikeMayberry


Quote:
ORIGINAL: oldvet70

Mike is the Spectra 2.4/Optima 7 Combo going to work with my old Prism 7X that has the module in the Tx or is the Tx just too old?

It will be compatible.
Is it the same as the one they are referring to?

Shane
Pit-Viper 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 04:14 PM
  #13
cahusker
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 124
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

I have a Prism 7X that I tried my module in today and it works fine. The X is kind of part of the logo on the Tx on mine. Also tried it on the Optic 6 and an old Futaba 7U and worked fine on them too. On the front of the Prism is the P7-AIRF PCM/PPM nomenclature. I was going to ask if you were for sure in PPM mode but you said it worked with other modules so assume that it was. Be interesting to see if it works on some other Tx's.
cahusker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:13 PM
  #14
wheelsdown
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Quote:
ORIGINAL: cahusker

I have a Prism 7X that I tried my module in today and it works fine. The X is kind of part of the logo on the Tx on mine. Also tried it on the Optic 6 and an old Futaba 7U and worked fine on them too. On the front of the Prism is the P7-AIRF PCM/PPM nomenclature. I was going to ask if you were for sure in PPM mode but you said it worked with other modules so assume that it was. Be interesting to see if it works on some other Tx's.
Hi ca,
Thanks for responding.
Yeah, it is in PPM mode. I wonder what is the difference between the 7 and the 7X. I would imagine it is only in features as all the transmitter modules such as the 'Spectra' all channel module works in all of them. There are only three pins used in the 2.4gHz. The signal, which is the closest to the edge, the Plus next then the most negative or ground. They followed the servo lay out. The antenna pin is of course not used. Some of the Hitecs have more features and use more pins according to Hitec.
The front of my tx has the same nomenclature as you mentioned but from pictures mine is a 7 and not a 7X. My friend has a Futaba with a plug in module so I will try it on that one. I have modified a lot of transmitters with ASSAN and Corona and they all work fine. I even have a very old Futaba AM using an ASSAN and it works great. The encoder is the same for AM and the FM.
The old encoder chip is very susceptible to the 2.4 for some reason
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...994433&page=29 look at post 422.
I am starting to believe that this module is just bad.
I will know more later. What a disappointment after waiting since May 1st.
I will post what I find.
Thanks again

Hello everone,
Well today I tried the Hitec 2.4 module in a Hitec Eclipse 7 belonging to a friend and it worked just fine. So now I don't know what to think. Do I send the whole thing including my Prism 7 back to Hitec or what? I did try it on my other transmitter that work with the ASSAN and it does not work with these transmitters either. The module must be looking for a different data stream than that used on other units. The connecting pins cannot be different. There are only five on the Eclipse 7 and my Prism 7. They are signal, +, ground, ground and antenna. So the difference must be in the signal stream. I do not have an o'scope to look at the signal since I have retired. Does anyone have a clue?
Regards
wheelsdown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:22 PM
  #15
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion




Quote:
ORIGINAL: it is in PPM mode. I wonder what is the difference between the 7 and the 7X. I would imagine it is only in features as all the transmitter modules such as the 'Spectra' all channel module works in all of them. There are only three pins used in the 2.4gHz. The signal, which is the closest to the edge, the Plus next then the most negative or ground. They followed the servo lay out. The antenna pin is of course not used. Some of the Hitecs have more features and use more pins according to Hitec. The front of my tx has the same nomenclature as you mentioned but from pictures mine is a 7 and not a 7X. My friend has a Futaba with a plug in module so I will try it on that one. I have modified a lot of transmitters with ASSAN and Corona and they all work fine. I even have a very old Futaba AM using an ASSAN and it works great. The encoder is the same for AM and the FM.
The old encoder chip is very susceptible to the 2.4 for some reason http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...994433&page=29 look at post 422. I am starting to believe that this module is just bad. I will know more later. What a disappointment after waiting since May first. I will post what I fine.
Thanks again
Prism 7X had several enhancements, one of which was Shift Select - if it is a 7X, ensure it is set for both PPM &Negative Shift.
Prism 7 & Prism 7X FAQ
Prism 7 Manual
Prism 7X Manual
Much more related information on my web page under
"Radio Systems, Accessories, Alterations and FAQ"



Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC Web Links

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 10:46 AM
  #16
Brendan Lugo
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Quote:
ORIGINAL: wheelsdown

Quote:
ORIGINAL: cahusker

I have a Prism 7X that I tried my module in today and it works fine. The X is kind of part of the logo on the Tx on mine. Also tried it on the Optic 6 and an old Futaba 7U and worked fine on them too. On the front of the Prism is the P7-AIRF PCM/PPM nomenclature. I was going to ask if you were for sure in PPM mode but you said it worked with other modules so assume that it was. Be interesting to see if it works on some other Tx's.
Hi ca,
Thanks for responding.
Yeah, it is in PPM mode. I wonder what is the difference between the 7 and the 7X. I would imagine it is only in features as all the transmitter modules such as the 'Spectra' all channel module works in all of them. There are only three pins used in the 2.4gHz. The signal, which is the closest to the edge, the Plus next then the most negative or ground. They followed the servo lay out. The antenna pin is of course not used. Some of the Hitecs have more features and use more pins according to Hitec.
The front of my tx has the same nomenclature as you mentioned but from pictures mine is a 7 and not a 7X. My friend has a Futaba with a plug in module so I will try it on that one. I have modified a lot of transmitters with ASSAN and Corona and they all work fine. I even have a very old Futaba AM using an ASSAN and it works great. The encoder is the same for AM and the FM.
The old encoder chip is very susceptible to the 2.4 for some reason
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...994433&page=29 look at post 422.
I am starting to believe that this module is just bad.
I will know more later. What a disappointment after waiting since May 1st.
I will post what I find.
Thanks again

Hello everone,
Well today I tried the Hitec 2.4 module in a Hitec Eclipse 7 belonging to a friend and it worked just fine. So now I don't know what to think. Do I send the whole thing including my Prism 7 back to Hitec or what? I did try it on my other transmitter that work with the ASSAN and it does not work with these transmitters either. The module must be looking for a different data stream than that used on other units. The connecting pins cannot be different. There are only five on the Eclipse 7 and my Prism 7. They are signal, +, ground, ground and antenna. So the difference must be in the signal stream. I do not have an o'scope to look at the signal since I have retired. Does anyone have a clue?
Regards
Brendan Lugo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:06 PM
  #17
wheelsdown
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Hello everyone,
It has been quiet on this forum.
Well, I can report that I now have my Hitec Prism 7 working with the Hitec 2.4 modules. The problem I found also allowed me to get my old Futaba AM working with the Hitec 2.4. It alway did work with the ASSAN units.
Here is the deal. In the Prism 7, Hitec connected pin 3 and 4 together (viewed from the pin closest to the edge, pin 1 the signal pin and pin 5 went to the antenna). Pin 4 is actually the ground pin and not pin 3 as I previously thought.
I traced and measured this out on a Futaba 7U that worked just fine. Pin 3 of the Futaba has a voltage of about 4.5Volts on it and measures (power off of course) 100 kOhms to ground. Don't know if this is a regulated voltage or not.
So I cut the trace between pins 3 and 4 (verified by an Ohm meter) and connected a 100 kOhm resistor from pin 3 to V+. Don't know if this is correct but it now works as it should. It works if pin 3 is left open also so I don't know what should be connect to this pin. Anyway, my Prism 7 works with the Hitec 2.4 module and so does my other transmitters. Because of this, I am going to order more Hitec units. I took some picture of what I did if anyone is interested. Maybe Mike or Billy at Hitec can tell me what should be on this pin 3.
This has been a good day.
Regards and thanks to all

Additional:
Pin 3 of the 2.4gHz module must be connected to something in the module that when grounded, disables the module. That's is of course why it didn't work. Pin 3 was grounded, that is , connected to pin 4 the ground, inside the Prism 7 transmitter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26423.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	1296165  
wheelsdown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:31 AM
  #18
blazer72
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: tracy , CA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Thanx so much this fix did the trick. I was going crazy trying to get this to work you saved me so much frustration.I have been using my prizm radio for years its like an old shoe the conversion just made it all that much better.Thanx again Wheelsdown you are the man!
blazer72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 10:42 AM
  #19
wheelsdown
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: blazer72

Thanx so much this fix did the trick. I was going crazy trying to get this to work you saved me so much frustration.I have been using my prizm radio for years its like an old shoe the conversion just made it all that much better.Thanx again Wheelsdown you are the man!
Hi Blazer72
You are very welcome. Glad it is fixed. I had decided that this problem was not going to beat me so I borrowed a friends Futaba which worked and checked it out.
I have since talked to Tony at Hitec and he informed me that pin 3 in the Prism 7X and other Hitecs is not connected to anything.
Question here is then why is pin 3 in the 2.4 module connect to something. Anyway it works now thank goodness. The 100K resistor I had added is not needed and pin 3 can be left empty.
Happy Flying
Gene
wheelsdown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 08:46 AM
  #20
fr640
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jurancon, FRANCE
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Hi Mike

Compatibility again.

Is the 2.4 combo spextra + Optima 7 sold in the US going to be compatible with my European Optic 6, bought in France?

Im about to order it in the US, since it has not yet reached our land.

Thanks for ur support
fr640 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:06 AM
  #21
Brendan Lugo
 
Brendan Lugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 675
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

They are all the same, so the version you buy here would be the same as the one you would buy in your country.
Brendan Lugo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 10:10 AM
  #22
fr640
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jurancon, FRANCE
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Thanks, i'll buy it tod
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Brendan Lugo

They are all the same, so the version you buy here would be the same as the one you would buy in your country.
ay...
fr640 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:15 PM
  #23
Barlingbomber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Old Greenwich, CT
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Hi,
I just bought a 2.4GHz adapter kit that comes with two 7 Ch receivers from Tower Hobbies. I have a Hitec Prism 7 and Eclipse7 transmitters both of which have worked fine for years with the spectra, 72MHz and 35 MHZ modules (I used to live in the UK)I have for them. I attached the aerial and plugged in the 2.4 GHz module in as per the instructions and then followed the steps for setting up the Transmitter Receiver link in Normal Mode (press the button on the module, switch on then release the button etc)

• On the Eclipse set neither of the LED lights (Blue or Red )come on
• On the Prism set the red LED light comes on but is not flashing.

The blue light does not light up on either set

On the receivers, again I followed the instructions, pressed the button and then plugged in the battery, then released the button. On both receivers the red light came on and flashes but nothing else happens.

From the posts above I see I may have to do some work on the Prism 7 but I am at a loss to understand why the Eclipse 7 won't work at all when it works fine with a spectra or 72 MHz module plugged in the back???

any ideas?

By the way I also plugged in a receiver battery and servos to the receivers to check if the connection had already been set up but the servos did not move when I moved the sticks so I guess not.



Phil
Barlingbomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:21 PM
  #24
Barlingbomber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Old Greenwich, CT
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion

Wheelsdown (Gene),

quick question. After breaking the connection between pins 3 and 4 do you know if the regular 72 MHZ (individual channel or synthesized ) modules will still work? Also is the resistor optional or a must? Sorry if the question is a dumb one but I'm electronics illiterate (good with wood though!)

thanks,

Phil
Barlingbomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:26 PM
  #25
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Default RE: Hitec 2.4 conversion


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Barlingbomber Hi, I just bought a 2.4GHz adapter kit that comes with two 7 Ch receivers from Tower Hobbies. I have a Hitec Prism 7 and Eclipse7 transmitters both of which have worked fine for years with the spectra, 72MHz and 35 MHZ modules (I used to live in the UK)I have for them. I attached the aerial and plugged in the 2.4 GHz module in as per the instructions and then followed the steps for setting up the Transmitter Receiver link in Normal Mode (press the button on the module, switch on then release the button etc) • On the Eclipse set neither of the LED lights (Blue or Red )come on
• On the Prism set the red LED light comes on but is not flashing. The blue light does not light up on either set On the receivers, again I followed the instructions, pressed the button and then plugged in the battery, then released the button. On both receivers the red light came on and flashes but nothing else happens. From the posts above I see I may have to do some work on the Prism 7 but I am at a loss to understand why the Eclipse 7 won't work at all when it works fine with a spectra or 72 MHz module plugged in the back??? any ideas? By the way I also plugged in a receiver battery and servos to the receivers to check if the connection had already been set up but the servos did not move when I moved the sticks so I guess not. Phil
Check TXare set tobothNegative Shift and PPM - will not operate if TX on QPCM.
Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz79381.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	1304660   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq50787.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	1304661  
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:03 AM.