Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

First Savage Broken Part

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2012, 05:44 PM
JohnP2

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default First Savage Broken Part

This morning, I took the Savage out for a "pre-bash" outing (see my YouTubechannel below).

While I'm still a newbie, I HAVE learned that it ;'s best to "pre-bash" new vehicles so you can weed out some weak-points before you really go balls to the wall..

My Savage held up well. Again, it was a light run (video below) but I was happy with it.

Unfortunately, the front steering rod end popped out. I was able to fix it no problem, but it happened again after I put it back on.

My questions:

1. Is this typical with theX 4.6?Please notethe rod enddidnot tear open...instead it just keeps popping out.
2. Is there an aftermarket part I can get (preferably one with a metal bushing?

All in all it seems pretty tough, buy little dissapointed in the rod-end. Looks like I have to buya parts-tree just to replace it.

Thanks!

Old 11-11-2012, 06:05 PM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: First Savage Broken Part

use a washer to hold it on with the screw

I had that issue on my flux in the rear but there I just went with one piece carriers which is not an option on the front.
Old 11-12-2012, 02:30 PM
JohnP2

Thank you, sir. I like the idea...hopefully it will still provide it the needed play. I was hoping RPM made some rod ends for the Savage, but it does not appear so.
Old 11-12-2012, 03:10 PM
steed2-inactive

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If rpm made rod ends it would be the worst product on the market. Their plastic is so malleable it's ridiculous. I have a love hate relationship with rpm, yes they don't break to often but I guess not
Being that soft.
Old 11-12-2012, 04:09 PM
SyCo_VeNoM