HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Throttle servos

Reply

Old 02-22-2013, 04:16 PM
  #1  
chevymanmike1010
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Longview , TX
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Throttle servos

Hey fellas, been awhile. Ran my savy this past weekend an my jr racing throttle servo went out. Threw on my spare (hpi sf-20w) an less than 2 tanks later it went out today! Could this be my reciever shorting them out or is it just my servos? Reciever is about a year old. Thanks.
chevymanmike1010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:58 PM
  #2  
JohnP2
Senior Member
 
JohnP2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 1,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

You went further with your sf-20w than I did. Mine lasted about 1/2 gallons.
JohnP2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:17 PM
  #3  
chevymanmike1010
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Longview , TX
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

It only lasted 2 tanks haha
chevymanmike1010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:27 AM
  #4  
Team GxG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

My guess is that it's just the servos. Did they just stop cold, or were they twitchy, unresponsive, or weak at all before they stopped?
Team GxG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:57 AM
  #5  
chevymanmike1010
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Longview , TX
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

Stopped outta nowhere, no twitching or anything
chevymanmike1010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:01 PM
  #6  
JoeMaxx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos



Was it cold outside?   Grease in the servo could have gotten hard from the cold weather and caused it fail.  Just a thought.

JoeMaxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:15 PM
  #7  
JohnP2
Senior Member
 
JohnP2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 1,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos


ORIGINAL: chevymanmike1010

Stopped outta nowhere, no twitching or anything
Mine did the same thing. Just stopped moving at all. The steering servo on it his horrible as well. I need to upgrade that soon.

JohnP2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:06 PM
  #8  
JoeMaxx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

For my throttle servos I like to run a high Torque Servo like the Futaba S3010 or the Metal Geared Futaba S3305.    These are direct fit into the HPIs.   I see that you were running a JR Servo which is a 23 spline and the Futaba and HPI are 25 Spline Servos.

Spektrum has replaced the JR servos and they are the same company just rebranded themselves when they introduced the 2.4 Ghz radio systems.

Just a little information incase you guys did not know it.
JoeMaxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:44 PM
  #9  
Borneoben
Member
 
Borneoben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Doha, QATAR
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

Spektrum and JR are not the same company.

Spektrum is owned by Horizon Hobby and they licensed there 2.4ghz technology to JR in return JR allowed them to rebrand their servos and use existing TX case moldings etc. This allowed JR to get into the 2.5 market sooner, and Spektrum to offer complete systems.

JR and Spektrum now have there own proprietary 2.4Ghz systems that are no longer compatible, it started with DSMJ
Now you will see that there are very few if any new products shared by both companies.

JR and Spektrum are not the same company.
Borneoben is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:24 PM
  #10  
chevymanmike1010
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Longview , TX
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

Nah. Live in Texas, it was 70-75 that day.
chevymanmike1010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:43 PM
  #11  
JoeMaxx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Throttle servos

Hmm makes me wonder what made the Servos fail so quick.




JoeMaxx is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service