HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Hi Torque Servo

Reply

Old 01-03-2005, 12:38 PM
  #1  
ballnut11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hi Torque Servo

Question, with the Savage SS. I have the Standard 2 Channel Radio with the Servos that comes with the Radio. I know the Servo for the throttle really doesn't need to be extra strong. Now I have a problem with my Steering. I can move the Wheels manually and the Servo Horn and the Rods turn just fine, but when I try and turn them by the Radio it doesn't turn, it sounds like it wants to. So would a Hi Torque Servo cure this problem?
ballnut11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 01:01 PM
  #2  
ZEWSKI
Member
 
ZEWSKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 92
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Torque Servo

The Hitec HS-645MG is a good choice to upgrade your steering servo. There are other options you just need to look at the specs for torque, speed, and type of gears. The HS-645MG is a high torque application and has metal gears which last longer.
ZEWSKI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 04:00 PM
  #3  
stevblutu15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: W. Long Branch, NJ
Posts: 1,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Torque Servo

even a stock servo will turn the wheels in the air, but yes a high tork servo is prob needed, if you put the truck on the ground, and try to roll it do the wheels adventually turn? if not you may have a diff problem, but a Hitec-645MG is a good servo to start with.
stevblutu15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 04:07 PM
  #4  
brokenstuff
Senior Member
 
brokenstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a town, IL
Posts: 403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Torque Servo

and at least a 6 volt battery
brokenstuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 04:34 PM
  #5  
Vortec_Rat
Senior Member
 
Vortec_Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montague, NJ
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hi Torque Servo

Yeah, definitely make sure the batts fully charged and go with the 5 cell hump pack. I have the 200oz airtronics servo on mine and it has a tough time turning the wheels with it on the ground.
Vortec_Rat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy