Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Problems starting my new Savage X

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2007, 12:36 PM
zud00

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Problems starting my new Savage X

I'm new to the hobby and just bought a Savage X. I cannot get this thing to start.

I followed the manual on how to start...primed it by using the rotostart until fuel reached the carb, put the glow plug ingniter on, and then put the roto start in and started cranking. It will not fire up. I thought maybe I flooded it so I pulled the glow plug out (it was a little wet) and dried it off, cranked the engine with the glow plug out, and then put it back in and tried again. Nothing. I tried a hair dryer to heat it up and still nothing.

The only thing I can think might be the problem is that I didn't charge my glow plug ingniter for the full time. Rather than charging it for 14-16 hours for the first charge I charged it for 12 hours. Could this be the problem? I haven't changed any of the settings on the tuning needles.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. I have a busy weekend coming up so more than likely I won't even get another chance at it until next week.
Old 06-15-2007, 12:46 PM
benzzyo5

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems starting my new Savage X

take out the plug and put the ignitor on it....does it glow up? if not the plug might be bad
Old 06-15-2007, 02:10 PM
zud00

I tried what you said and it lit up...the plug is not bad. I took it to an airplane guy here in town and he tried a few things...