Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Savage X 4.6 RTR, break-in problem :(

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 11:04 PM
xXxCellARatOr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Savage X 4.6 RTR, break-in problem :(

Hi there,
i am completely new at this hobby and it is my first time ever owning a nitro vehicle. i just bought an RTR Savage X 4.6, and today i tryed to start it up and do the break-in. my first mistake was that i flooded the engine. but i took the plug off, spun the engine and got the fuel out. after giving it another shot, the engine started, but it only ran for about 5 seconds. i have tryed about 30 times to get it to go, playing with the needles and reseting them to the factory settings. the car still only runs for about 5-15 seconds, then stalls. i noticed that there is alot of fuel coming out of the exaust pipe. is the mixture wayyy too rich?? i have also installed a FINE fuel filter (could that be causing it?)

i'de greatly appreciate it if someone could help me, thanks!!
Old 07-08-2007, 01:11 AM
dave683

Default RE: Savage X 4.6 RTR, break-in problem :(

Tune everything back to factory setting and then turn your high spe' needle 1/8 counter-wise for a more rich setting, which is more perferable to me =] Anyways, after you do that, prime your engine, and then try starting it again but with your hands on the throttle; throttling pluses of 10~15% 'til your engine warms up to around 220 F and then you let go of your thorttle. And if your engine stalls, higher your idling rpm 'til it is at a stable level. *shrugs* correct me if i'm wrong. That's how i got my engine started.

Oh, you show also look up at the two ways of breaking in your engine:
1. The heat cycle method
2. Idling method
Just look do a search and u'll find plenty of results =]
Old 07-08-2007, 01:44 AM