Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Nitro content myths

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 09:28 PM
MasterMechainc5
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro content myths

Im a tech at hobby town and iv heard people say that the higher the nitro content the cooler your engine runs and also that once you use 30% nitro in your engine you shouldnt run 20% because your engine wears in differently and will run like crap if you go back to 20%.
I think that nether of these make sense the first one because the higher nitro % your fuel has the more power it makes and more power = more heat and the secound one i think as long as you retune your engine after switching back to 20% you engine should run fine[8D]
So what do u guys think is this stuff myths or fact?
Old 07-10-2007, 11:09 PM
ThunderbirdJunkie
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Nitro content myths

nitro content doesn't really affect running temperature. oil content affects that, mostly because any extra oil in the fuel will displace methanol. methanol is the cooling agent in nitro.
Old 07-10-2007, 11:45 PM
MasterMechainc5

but oil reduces friction so wouldnt more oil = less heat?
Old 07-11-2007, 04:10 AM
amec

I have found using 30% i havent gone looking for the last little bit of power to be had by leaning the hsn. Therefore running cooler.
Old 07-11-2007, 05:27 AM
l3asher

Running 30% gives you more compression which equals more power. The P/S expland more so thats why they say dont go back down because with 20% you will not get as much explansion.
Old 07-11-2007, 05:42 AM
ttoks

when you run 30% nitro you have to add a shim to lower the compression so that you don't stuff the glow plugs, so you dont get more power from that.