HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

roto start mach 427????

Reply
Old 02-08-2008, 09:11 PM
  #1
zuel509
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: yakima, WA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default roto start mach 427????

If anyone has installed a mach 427 in there savage which roto start did you use??
zuel509 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:02 PM
  #2
DaveG55
 
DaveG55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockbridge, GA
Posts: 8,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

Not the 427 but the Mach.26 - basically the same engines
I installed it in my Savage and just used the HPI roto-start backplate. All I had to do was (carefully) drill four new mounting holes. I then used an extra mounting screw to tap threads into the aluminum. It's worked great for over 2 years now.
Also, if I remember correctly, the XTM 427 backplate will fit w/o any modifications.
DaveG55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 02:53 AM
  #3
HerrSavage
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Irgendwo, GERMANY
Posts: 10,292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

Supposedly, if you have the Spin-start unit from the Muggy, you can just use the original Losi spin-start.. Before it didn't work cuz the wand from the LST was too short.. The Muggy spin-start has a longer wand.. Defo the easiest way I think..

The other way is to get the backplate from the XTM 24.7 to use with an HPI rotostart.

Those are your choices basically...
HerrSavage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 06:52 AM
  #4
X-ruler
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , MI
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

I have a sportwerks .26 same motor and I just use a drill. The losi spin start won't work but a drill works just fine with the spin start back plate.
X-ruler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:05 AM
  #5
HerrSavage
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Irgendwo, GERMANY
Posts: 10,292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

The Losi spin-start will work with a Mach because the Machs come with Losi spin-start backplates... But not the SW26..

On a sidenote, I couldn't believe how cheap the SW26 V2 is at amain.. For $130 IMHO it's the best engine you can put in a Sav.. (or the Mach - same engines..)
HerrSavage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 03:52 PM
  #6
X-ruler
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , MI
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

I wasn't able to use the spin start because the rear bumper gets in the way and the starter shaft won't reach. Thats why I had to just use the drill. Maybe my bumper was out of alignment or something.
X-ruler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 06:02 PM
  #7
poorwboy
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: redlands, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

I did this on my mach 427. All you have to do is buy a xtm 24.7 back plate and one way bearing. And everything will bolt right up And works perfect.
poorwboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:35 PM
  #8
mountain_of_cheese
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: hayward, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

Regarding the SW26 v2, did any of you guys change the internal OWB before you installed the rotostart? I have an OWB replacement for the stock F4.1 that would eliminate the need for the OWB altogether, but only if the drive shaft of the SW26 was more like that of the stock F4.1 that has the spring loaded PIN
mountain_of_cheese is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:06 PM
  #9
ThunderbirdJunkie
 
ThunderbirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwood, OH
Posts: 22,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

I don't know if they've changed the XTM 247 OWBs or not, but the pin for the OWB on the crank of my M427 was too big for the XTM 247's OWB, so I swapped it out for a Mach 26 crank.

can anybody post pics of their newer-than-mine Mach 427's crank?
ThunderbirdJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:28 AM
  #10
mountain_of_cheese
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: hayward, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

For my fix to remove the OWB from inside the engine block to completely outside, I'd need a F4.1 crank shaft, exacty like [link=http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h90/prayoum/last/46%20savage%20x/img_6497.jpg]this one[/link] that has a hollow shaft for the pin to engage the rotostart starting shaft.

My SWK 26 crank shaft looks very similar if not identical to [link=http://i4.ebayimg.com/05/i/000/a8/9f/bda1_1_b.JPG]this[/link], which has the fixed pin that engages the inside OWB

How compatible are the crank shafts between manufacturers and models?
mountain_of_cheese is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 02:25 PM
  #11
rcbeep73
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: tuckerton, NJ
Posts: 462
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

I just did this today. I used a Tiger Drive adapter plate to mount the Savage Roto start system on. The Losi 427 Roto Start was blocked by the chassis/bulk head support. So I could have drilled new holes threw the back plate of the engine but did not want to. But all in all the adapter work great and there is lots of room for the wond and it was worth the $30.00 bucks to make it work the right way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40507.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	1071452   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql33970.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	1071453  
rcbeep73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:38 PM
  #12
ThunderbirdJunkie
 
ThunderbirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwood, OH
Posts: 22,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: roto start mach 427????

ThunderbirdJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:58 AM.