Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks > HPI Monster Truck Forum
Reload this Page >

First attempt at nitro, starting with a picco .28 - Thoughts so far

Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

First attempt at nitro, starting with a picco .28 - Thoughts so far

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 01:13 AM
krnbk2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First attempt at nitro, starting with a picco .28 - Thoughts so far

This is my first attempt in the nitro RC world as I have always been an electric kinda guy. I have been out of the scene for almost 10 years and boy a lot has changed. About a month ago my interest was peaked after seeing the Savaga Flux video. After doing the research I decided on trying out Nitro and picked up a Savage XL. After reading of the poor performance associated with the 5.9 motor I decided to upgrade to the Picco .28 while the 5.9 was new so that I could sell it.

Fast forward 2 weeks and here I am with my new picco motor installed and sealed (back plate and carb neck). Charged up my batteries and glow starter and gave it a go. I installed an mc590 plug for breaking in and tried the first tank on odonells race. after heating the engine up for 10 minutes with a hair dryer and priming the motor, 3 pulls with the pullstart and she came alive. Man that was a lot easier than I anticipated. I was a bit nervous that I wasn't going to get her started and that my lack of nitro experience wouldn't help. I left everything set at factory specs and with a little help of tinfoil I was able to almost get the motor to 200 degrees. I shut her down and was able to get her started 2 more times after even when the motor was dead cold. so far, as a nub to nitro this isnt half bad.