RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   HPI Monster Truck Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/hpi-monster-truck-forum-250/)
-   -   Wheely King for a 7 year old? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/hpi-monster-truck-forum-250/10528962-wheely-king-7-year-old.html)

dragonbat13 05-19-2011 03:39 AM

Wheely King for a 7 year old?

Heres the deal, My boy is gonna be 7 in July. This gives me enough time to research. The sitituation is that I am new to the hobby and I just got a Savage XL about a two months ago, great fun.

HOWEVER

Its impractical to drive the truck in the trailer park and in smaller places as you know for a beginner like me let alone a seven year old. So I want to get him his own truck.

Main thing is it needs to be electric. I like my nitro truck but it would be easier on me and him if it were electric.

Four wheel drive or two wheel drive doesnt matter.

He does drive my truck and is better than I expected with it.

One truck I was looking at was a Kheely King. They look like there fast enough to enjoy and can do other things he is gonna want to do.

Is this truck durable enough for him and is it fast enough and fun enough to keep him interested in it,
Or does anybody have any other suggestions?

moezer 05-19-2011 04:56 AM

RE: Wheely King for a 7 year old?

nothing wrong with a wheely king looks good and every thing and HPI stands behind its products good, the main thing u want to look for is will it have parts at the hobby store right away if you break some thing on it... If parts is not supported good at ur hobby shop then i would get him a 2 wheen drive traxxas stampede, or a 4x4 traxxas slash, any hobby shop u go in too will carry parts for these 2 and there ESC has 3 settings u can pick from.

setting 1 is 100% forward 100% reverse and 100% brake or 50% i think, dont remember

setting 2 is 100% forward and 100% brake no reverse

setting 3 is for kids and that has 50% forward 50% reverse and 100% brake

hope this helps GL