Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

Had AFPD V5 but

Reply
Old 04-11-2011, 05:43 PM
  #1
gordyd4
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ALPINE, CA
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Had AFPD V5 but

I had AFPD but the dongle died; I have my doubts they will replace the dongle and if they tell me to buy another, well, maybe we should just switch and try G5 since the LHS has them for 170 buck right now.

What do you guys think of the Real Flight G5.5?
Is it user friendly?
Do you have to have the expansion packs to get better planes? For example I want several 40% planes, mono wing and Bi Plane, Hempels planes, you get the idea.

Thanks Guys!
gordyd4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:08 PM
  #2
DMcQuinn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Had AFPD V5 but

AFPD replaced my dongle for free, but I had to ship it to Germany. It was many years old. Also, sometimes it is just a bad solder joint in the cable. check this very closely
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 01:05 PM
  #3
gordyd4
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ALPINE, CA
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Had AFPD V5 but

I did not want to remove the heat shrink, but I thought about it. I am hoping they take care of it. I have a dongle for my cad/cam program and it is 13 years old and not ever a problem. I have an opinion about the dongle myself, but will wait to express my opinion until they do or don't replace it.

I liked the AFPD, but I have never had the RF. I'll wait a bit to find out what they are going to do.

Is the new AFP dongle the same large bulky cable as the last one? I'd prefer to just have a usb plug for the computer that I can plug into the back of it, then use another usb for the controller. I don't know if the multi-player connector is a dongle, if it is, that would work great too.
There is just no reason to have that big cable with the new technology.
gordyd4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:30 PM
  #4
gordyd4
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ALPINE, CA
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Had AFPD V5 but

They have told me that 4 years is too old and I will have to buy another. Outrageous! These cables should last many more years than that; I searched and found there are a lot of people whom have had Ikarus cables fail. I'm gonna make an issue of this; first, the company I bought if from, OMP is going to get an email. I've spent thousands there and I will express my dissatisfaction.
gordyd4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:57 AM
  #5
ezilonis
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: , AZ
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Had AFPD V5 but

Go for Realflight5.5 or Phoenix3... IMO both are better.

Ifeel like Phoenix is my go to sim for Heli's... RFseems to be my fav for planks
ezilonis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:23 PM
  #6
gordyd4
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ALPINE, CA
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Had AFPD V5 but

Since Ikarus screwed us on our cable and wanted us to buy a new one, I decided to buy Real Flight 5. All I can say is wow. The old AFPd was better years ago.
Now with the upgraded Real flight 5, it is way better than Ikarus hands down. It is very capable and the flight is very realistic. Real Flight's customer service was excellent. Ikarus customer service, well......poor at best.
gordyd4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:14 PM.