Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 16 of 16

  1. #1
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    AFPD Graphics Problem

    Hi,
    I have just reinstalled AFPD Pro to run on my plasma tv, however the main menu shows up fine but when I try to fly a model, the graphics are all screwed up. I get strange outlines of the aircraft, no scenery and in the centre is the model that is quite clear. I have 1.9.7.33 When I try to install 1.9.7.11 I get a message that it is not compatible?

    Specs are

    Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    RAM 8gb
    CPU Quad core 2.6gHz
    GT240 Graphics (just downloaded the latest graphics drivers)

    AFPD Pro + Add-on 1 + Starflight

    Any help would be appreciated.

    George

  2. #2
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Some more information -

    I have also tried to reinstall but I get an error and the program won't uninstall? The tm.log file is 0 bytes also.

    George

  3. #3
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Well I just deleted the IPACS folders and the registry entry, reinstalled 1.8.0.9 and all works. Although the display exceeds the screen size and I can't easily see the menus but it is progress! I have the screen set to 1920 x 1080 which is the native resolution of the LG plasma I think. The Windows screen is fine and all fits within the screen size.

    I'll now try Add-On 1 and see what happens :-)

    George

  4. #4
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    I've now successfully installed 1.9.1.3 (screen size issue remains). Now I'm trying the Starflight Add-on. I'll report back.

    If it works it may have been because I updated the graphics drivers after I installed AFPD? I still need to try the 1.9.7.11 update and see if that will install.

    George


    UPDATE: Starflight installs okay and all works (except for screen issue). However the same error with the 1.9.7.11 update - the system says the update is not compatible - any help in fixing this will be appreciated.

    George

  5. #5
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Disable the User Account Control in Win 7 first before any installation

    The correct installation sequence is: main disk, addon1, addon2 (starflight), and lastly the 1.9.7.11 patch which you can get here http://www.aerofly.com/afpd/downloads.html If you had installed in any other sequence, you would have to do a complete uninstall and reinstall

    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  6. #6
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Hi Mike,
    I did do the install in the sequence you describe and with the exception of the screen sizing all works okay but it won't accept the 1.9.7.11 update?

    George

  7. #7
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    As I said, disable the User Account Control in Win 7 first before any installation
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  8. #8
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Thanks Mike,
    I did do that and had tried "run as administrator" also. Then realized because I was using a file manager program (I had transferred the file via usb stick) it was showing the patch file as 4kb! No wonder it didn't work. I then found the 2.2mb file and it installed correctly.

    I still have the screen size issue but I can manage that. Thank you for your help. Without a doubt there would be many frustrated Aerofly users were it not for your help.

    Regards,
    George

  9. #9
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    What's the native resolution of your plasma screen? Could you check the manual?
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  10. #10
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    I have a 60" LG 60PG70fd. The manual states many options for screen size. For RGB-PC, HDMI/DVI-PC mode it states 1920 x 1080, 1400 x 1050, 1280 x 1024, and a few below that down to 720 x 400.
    Not sure if that helps you?
    Cheers,
    George

  11. #11
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Please go into the config folder which you can find inside the AFPD directory. Open the main.mcf file with a text editor like notepad. Tell me what you see in the first three lines.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  12. #12
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Sorry Mike, I'm away at the moment. i'll look at this as soon as I return.
    George

  13. #13
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    I'm back home now Mike!

    1st 3 lines are -

    window_width 1920
    window_height 1080
    window_fullscreen 1

    George

  14. #14
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    You could try to adjust the width and screen numbers in the main.mcf file until you get a good fit to your display. Backup the file first before making any adjustment. After making any adjustment, remember to "save" the file in notepad so that the changes are effective. Leave the fullscreen to 1.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  15. #15
    GWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Hi Mike,

    I tried numerous changes to the config file with no effect. I then realized it was not AFPD but something in my TV. I changed from the picture setting from 16:9 to Just Scan and all is perfect!
    Thank you again for taking the time to respond to the members, it is very much appreciated.

    Regards from Tassie.

    George

  16. #16
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: AFPD Graphics Problem

    Thanks for the update. Glad it's working fine now. Enjoy!
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.