Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Problem with Aerofly 5.5 and Spektrum DX7

    Hi,

    A new thread as requested and at the risk of repeating the same questions:

    I cannot get my Spektrum DX7 to work with Aerofly. I have the game controller, supplied interface cable, normal black cable, andthe y lead adaptor cable which is plugged into my Tx.

    Aerofly recognises the game controller when searching for new controllers, but shows it having 0 channels. I then select it for calibration and nothing, as if the Tx is not even connected! When I cancel that it keeps telling me my RC is off or not connected. This happens with the Tx switch on or off.

    I have all the cables EXACTLY as specified in the last picture on a previous thread as posted by yourself, and my TX is off (turns on in DSC mode when the cable is plugged in), I have selected a new, unedited default model on my Tx and trainer mode is inhibited, actually I have tried all4 trainer modes with no success.

    A picture of my cables is attached. Any help please??

    Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nl28865.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	108.0 KB 
ID:	1738530  

  2. #2
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with Aerofly 5.5 and Spektrum DX7

    What type of game controller are you referring to in your message above?

    Although the DX7 radio is DSM (not PCM or PPM), the signal from the trainer port is tapped before any modulation is applied and is PPM compatible, and therefore works with Aerofly. There is nothing to set in the radio, but an Aerofly stereo-to-mono adapter cable is required. Leave the DX7 switched off before plugging in the adapter cable. The radio will automatically switch on when the adapter cable is plugged into the radio. The radio will not work with Aerofly if it is manually switched on before inserting the adapter cable.

    Also, please ensure that your cable connections are as shown in the diagram below, and make sure all connectors are pushed all the way in. Are you able to push in the mono plug in your y-adapter cable completely into the socket at the back of your DX7? Is the black plastic casing blocking the insertion in any way?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr49919.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	104.7 KB 
ID:	1738560  
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with Aerofly 5.5 and Spektrum DX7

    Hi Mike,

    The game controller I am referring to is the USB interface that plugs into the computer and then we plug the Tx cables into that, exactly as per both our pictures above.

    All the cables are correctly and firmly connected, and the plug connects properly to the Tx, so the only thing I can think of is that either the USB interface or one of the cables is faulty. If there is nothing else you can suggest I'll be taking it back to my hobby store for a replacement.

    Thanks again.

    Richard

  4. #4
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with Aerofly 5.5 and Spektrum DX7

    Richard, OK, what you were referring to as the "game controller" is the usb stick interface. By definition, a game controller is a joystick device. What was the exact error message you were getting in AF5?
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    7
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with Aerofly 5.5 and Spektrum DX7

    Hi,

    Thanks for your time, but I tried the USB Tx (game controller) I had from Realflight G3 and that works perfectly. I also don't have to charge the batteries to fly on my PC any time, so I will continue with that.

    Regards.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.