Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1
    can773's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    2,260
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Have my AF5 up and running with the latest updates, (have tried both latest release, and beta release). In either case, the sim starts off fine getting 40-50 fps on simply sceneries (Sky Nights for instance), then after some time it begins to cycle from 40-50 fps, down to 20 fps and will not stop until I stop the sim for a while and restart, and the cycle repeats. Any suggestions how to prevent this would be appreciated. All graphics settings are turned right down, sim is running in window mode.

    Thanks,
    Chad

    Computer is a:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCI
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0863
    Revision ID: 0x00b1
    ROM Revision: 3427
    Displays:
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
    DELL U2312HM:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: T9MJ31B4C6HL
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported


    TM Log is,

    tmmodule: (5 modules) (tmatmosphere,1) (tmsystimer,1) (tmrandom,2) (tmfile,4) (tmopenal,20)
    tmmodule: init modules=(tmrandom=(seed=708617884) ok) done
    macosx-cocoa: Program version 5.7.1.9
    macosx-cocoa: Library Version 5.7, Copyright (C) 1998-2011, IPACS
    macosx-cocoa: http://www.ipacs.de
    macosx-cocoa: cpu speed = 2260 Mhz type=78ea4fbc
    macosx-cocoa: mac os version=1068 (10.6.8) (logical mem=2047MB) (physical mem=2047MB)
    tmfile: loading tmfile 'config/main.mcf' = (4777 bytes) done
    tmopenal: init= (default=Built-in Output) (0:Built-in Output) (version=1.1) (1.1) ok
    macosx-cocoa: gl: vendor=NVIDIA Corporation, renderer=NVIDIA GeForce 9400M OpenGL Engine, version=2.1 NVIDIA-1.6.36
    macosx-cocoa: (version=2.1) (compatibility profile)
    macosx-cocoa: gl: (viewport=8192x8192) (texturesize=8192)
    macosx-cocoa: gl: extensions=GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_blend GL_ARB_window_pos GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters GL_EXT_geometry_shader4 GL_EXT_transform_feedback GL_APPLE_client_storage GL_APPLE_specular_vector GL_APPLE_transform_hint GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_APPLE_fence GL_APPLE_vertex_array_object GL_APPLE_vertex_program_evaluators GL_APPLE_element_array GL_APPLE_flush_render GL_APPLE_aux_depth_stencil GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_shader_texture_lod GL_ARB_color_buffer_float GL_ARB_half_float_vertex GL_ARB_texture_rg GL_ARB_texture_compression_rgtc GL_ARB_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_draw_buffers2 GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_compression_dxt1 GL_EXT_texture_sRGB GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil GL_EXT_bindable_uniform GL_EXT_texture_integer GL_EXT_gpu_shader4 GL_EXT_framebuffer_sRGB GL_EXT_provoking_vertex GL_APPLE_flush_buffer_range GL_APPLE_ycbcr_422 GL_APPLE_rgb_422 GL_APPLE_vertex_array_range GL_APPLE_texture_range GL_APPLE_float_pixels GL_ATI_texture_float GL_ARB_texture_float GL_ARB_half_float_pixel GL_APPLE_pixel_buffer GL_APPLE_object_purgeable GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint GL_NV_fragment_program_option GL_NV_fragment_program2 GL_NV_vertex_program2_option GL_NV_vertex_program3 GL_NV_conditional_render GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3 GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_array GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra GL_ARB_instanced_arrays GL_ARB_depth_buffer_float GL_EXT_packed_float GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent
    macosx-cocoa: gl: extensions=(anisotropic filter of 16.00) (gpu shader 4)
    sim:
    sim: FUNC RenderOpen BEGIN
    sim:
    tmxgltext: loading font (0) 'texture/fontbig.tff'=(512x256) (h=26) (nc=256) ok
    tmxgltext: loading font (1) 'texture/fontbig.tff'=(512x256) (h=26) (nc=256) ok
    tmxgltext: loading font (2) 'texture/console.tff'=(256x128) (h=15) (nc=256) ok
    tmxgltext: loading font (3) 'texture/font.tff'=(2048x2048) (h=17) (nc=65535) ok
    tminput: searching for input devices...(3)
    macosx-inputdeviceusb: searching usb interface (0,0)=(radiointerface) ce3bce7e
    tminput: 1 devices found= (USB Interface #1) (ce3bce7e)
    tmmusic: (11 mp3 files found) (playlist = 0 songs)off
    sim: loading scenery 'scenery//us-lincoln-sky-knights'...
    tmscene: (12x12) (19x8) (r=5000.00) (sp=0.01 -0.00 -18.40) (vp=0.01 -0.00 1.60) (ambient=0.08 0.11 0.08) (diffuse=0.95 1.02 0.98) (sphereambient=0.25 0.20 0.20)
    tmxgltext: 162 textures using 72 MB
    tmcollision: init = (tris=37843, 7871344 bytes) (-3418.63 -3427.69 -44.78 - 3928.93 3919.87 63.55) (time=0.17s)
    tmcollision: (214 input objects) (1 base objects) (1 instance objects) (0 dynamic objects) (time=0.00s)
    tmfile: loading tmfile 'config/scenery-us-lincoln-sky-knights.tmc' = (903 bytes) done
    tmcollision: creating static collisionobjects quadtree = (objects=1) (-3418.64 -3427.70 -44.79) - (3928.94 3919.88 63.56)
    tmscene: scene bounding box = (-4529.83 -4648.07 12.66) (4701.53 4634.13 665.75)
    tmscene: max objects per cell = 76
    tmscene: shadowmap = 2048x1024 sp=2 (20.00 80.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00)
    sim: done loading scenery (t=5.59s objects=333)
    sim:
    sim: windfieldinfo 0: resolution=3.00 min=(-750.00 -750.00 0.00) max=(750.00 750.00 100.00)
    tmwindfield: Setup Windfield with origin = (-750.0, -750.0, 0.0), size_xy = (1500.0m, 1500.0m), Grid relation (x:y): 1:1, MipMapLevels: 9, Resolution: (2.9m, 2.9m)
    tmwindfield: Windfield Map Load from file 'scenery/us-lincoln-sky-knights/windfield0.twd' successful
    tmscene: statistics = (objects=335) (transparent=0) (graphics=2) (graphicsbb=0) (dynamic=0) (decals=0) (water=0) (tris=0) (shadow faces=0) (btrees=0) (trees=0)
    tmfile: loading tmfile 'config/player0.mcf' = (2359 bytes) done
    sim: loading model 'f16'...
    sim: path='aircraft/f16' geometry='f16' physics='f16' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Flaps Wheel-Brake Retractable-Gear Smoke Cockpit Airbrake
    sim: done loading model (t=0.96s, n=96, id=8)
    sim:
    tmfile: loading tmfile 'config/player1.mcf' = (2294 bytes) done
    tmfile: loading tmfile 'menu/settings.mcf' = (97683 bytes) done
    tmmodelmanager: (0:airfoil) (1:airfoil) (2:airfoil) (3:airfoil) (4:airfoil) (5:airfoil)
    tmmodelmanager: (6:airfoil) (7:airfoil) (8:airfoil) (9:airfoil) (10:airfoil) (11:airfoil) (12:airfoil) loading tmfile 'config/rc0-ce3bce7e.tmc' = (73461 bytes) done
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Flaps Wheel-Brake Retractable-Gear Smoke Cockpit Airbrake
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Flaps Wheel-Brake Retractable-Gear Smoke Cockpit Airbrake
    sim_update: connecting to server www.aerofly.com= FAIL(-13,43)
    tmxgltext: 483 textures using 135 MB
    sim:
    sim: FUNC RenderOpen END = 15.407233 sec
    sim:
    macosx-cocoa: compute thread started
    tm: calibrating radio deviations= 0 3 6 9 -16 25 -36 88
    license: license: tml file 'af5-c010.tml' = C010 0000 0507 0109 'aerofly5' 'C010-CE3BCE7E.lic' (activated=1)
    sim: loading model 'visa'...
    sim: path='aircraft/visa' geometry='visa' physics='visa' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Airbrake
    sim: done loading model (t=0.81s, n=63, id=8)
    sim:
    sim: loading model 'visa'...
    sim: path='aircraft/visa' geometry='visa' physics='visa__000' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Airbrake
    sim: done loading model (t=0.77s, n=63, id=8)
    sim:
    sim: loading model 'yak55'...
    sim: path='aircraft/yak55' geometry='yak55' physics='yak55__competition' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Smoke
    sim: done loading model (t=1.27s, n=63, id=8)
    sim:
    sim: loading model 'su29'...
    sim: path='aircraft/su29' geometry='su29' physics='su29' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder
    sim: done loading model (t=1.00s, n=63, id=8)
    sim:
    sim: loading model 'edge540t'...
    sim: path='aircraft/edge540t' geometry='edge540t' physics='edge540t' paintscheme=' ...
    tmmodelmanager: assigning controller to receiver
    tmmodelmanager: model input channel Throttle Aileron Elevator Rudder Smoke
    sim: done loading model (t=1.11s, n=67, id=8)
    sim:
    tmsysthread: ERROR: failed to terminate thread ('renderthread', 0x10425dbb0)

    Chad Northeast

    www.f3acanada.org

  2. #2
    opjose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Poolesville, MD
    Posts
    12,552

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    You are running low on VRAM.

    Aerofly 5 is pretty smooth if enough video ram is available to handle he textures, but like most 3D programs, it will get bogged down when the machine runs low.

    256megs is a pretty low amount by today's standards particularly at the HD resolution you are running the display.

    You may want to try setting texture resolution as low as possible while keeping everything else as is.

    I'll bet this will keep the FPS from dropping over time.

    Also you may want to run AF in full screen at a lower full screen resolution.

    That would avoid the need to lower the texture resolution.
    There is an art . . . to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

  3. #3
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,099
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Hi Chad, does the fps drop continuously when you're not doing anything (i.e. not flying at all), or while you're flying?
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  4. #4
    opjose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Poolesville, MD
    Posts
    12,552

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Try turning your screen resolution down.

    You're running at 1920x1080 with only 256m of Vram available on a 9400 GPU.

    ... pushing a LOT of textures and screen objects in a relatively small amount of video ram for that res.

    The x4xx series of Nvidia GPU's are not stellar performers.



    There is an art . . . to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

  5. #5
    can773's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    2,260
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Hi Mike,

    Usually its good for the first 5-10 minutes after I start up the sim, then it goes into this cycle of 30-40 to 15-20, and is very noticeable. Once it does this it never stops regardless of what your are doing, either flying or just letting the plane sit there on the runway.

    I have no other programs running, but maybe something is in the background that could cause this?
    Chad Northeast

    www.f3acanada.org

  6. #6
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,099
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Hi Chad, by "cycling", do you mean that the fps goes up and down? If you just let the model sit on the runway, what is the time duration between each cycle? Yes, I would check for any applications running in the background and disable them, as a first step.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  7. #7
    can773's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    2,260
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Hi Mike,

    Once it starts its every few seconds, 20fps to 40fps to 20 to 40 and on and on...really annoying!

    There does not seem to be anything running that should be working the computer, here is a list, (firefox and activity monitor are obviously not running while the sim is on)

    373 prl_naptd 0.0 3 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    237 MagicPrefs 0.2 7 15.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
    699 mdworker 0.0 3 7.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    220 UserEventAgent 0.0 3 6.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    37 loginwindow 0.0 2 8.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
    700 Firefox 0.0 23 196.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    706 Activity Monitor 1.4 2 24.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    227 AirPort Base Station Agent 0.0 3 5.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    712 aerofly5 42.9 12 526.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
    228 BBLaunchAgent.app 0.3 6 2.9 MB Intel
    205 Dock 0.0 3 14.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    211 pboard 0.0 1 840 KB Intel (64 bit)
    235 WD Quick View 0.0 7 17.4 MB Intel
    206 SystemUIServer 1.2 4 18.5 MB Intel (64 bit)
    212 fontd 0.0 2 3.5 MB Intel (64 bit)
    260 iStatLocal 0.0 3 4.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    201 launchd 0.0 2 936 KB Intel (64 bit)
    207 Finder 0.0 6 16.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
    31 usbmuxd 0.0 3 2.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    169 coreaudiod 0.0 3 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    164 WindowServer 8.4 4 68.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    19 mDNSResponder 0.0 3 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    16 distnoted 0.0 2 1.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
    0 kernel_task 2.5 66 361.0 MB Intel
    71 nmbd 0.0 1 1.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
    12 notifyd 0.0 2 564 KB Intel (64 bit)
    36 mds 0.0 5 26.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    54 iStatLocalDaemon 0.8 3 2.1 MB Intel
    1 launchd 0.0 3 1.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
    13 syslogd 0.0 4 680 KB Intel (64 bit)
    43 dynamic_pager 0.0 1 740 KB Intel (64 bit)
    49 autofsd 0.0 2 900 KB Intel (64 bit)
    185 prl_diservice 0.0 16 16.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
    173 prl_naptd 0.0 4 7.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    55 coreservicesd 0.0 4 14.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    14 configd 0.0 6 3.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
    26 ntpd 0.0 1 1.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
    38 KernelEventAgent 0.0 3 960 KB Intel (64 bit)
    15 diskarbitrationd 0.0 2 1.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
    27 cupsd 0.0 3 6.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
    708 activitymonitord 0.6 1 1.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
    10 kextd 0.0 2 3.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
    28 krb5kdc 0.0 2 1.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
    40 hidd 0.0 3 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    188 cvmsServ 0.0 1 832 KB Intel (64 bit)
    52 BBDaemon 0.0 4 1.0 MB Intel
    11 DirectoryService 0.0 5 4.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
    17 blued 0.0 3 4.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    23 securityd 0.0 2 2.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
    41 fseventsd 0.0 13 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
    53 sh 0.0 1 812 KB Intel (64 bit)
    Chad Northeast

    www.f3acanada.org

  8. #8
    nonstoprc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Central, TX
    Posts
    2,405
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    Hi Chad,

    I did not notice fps rate dropping with my setup (Aerofly usb game commander, and aerofly 5.7.1.1). In full-screen mode, the fps ranges from 30 to 60 and the simulation is smooth.

    5.7.1.1 is the version I online upgraded to. The original CD is for mac, and I am running mac os X 10.6.8 on a MBP with the following

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,4
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP53.00AC.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.49f2
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCI


    You may adjust the "graphics quality" to "low" under Aerofly simulation dialog window to see if helps. There are other parameters to adjust, such as texture, shadow, anti-aliasing etc.
    Where facts are few, experts are many.
    Perfection is God\'\'\'\'s business.

  9. #9
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,099
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aerofly 5 choppiness

    nonstop, thanks for sharing your experience with the 9400M. What graphics quality are you running in full screen mode?

    The 9400M does not have a dedicated memory and shares the main memory. Its performance will depend on the main memory speed e.g. DDR3 will perform much faster than DDR2. In any case, the 9400M is not a very powerful graphics processor with only 256MB of vram, and it is not recommended for AF5 http://www.aerofly.com/requirements_en.html You could try to reduce the quality settings, but this might not help. You should also check if VSYNC is enabled and disable it.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.