Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Reply
Old 07-14-2012, 04:59 AM
  #1
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Rajul,

My AFPD interface cable has developed a short in the end with the phono plug. I'm currently using it with an Aurora 9 transmitter. It works fine as long as don't jiggle it while I flying. Is there any way I fix or replace it?

Jeff....
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 07:25 AM
  #2
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Hi Jeff, how did you confirm the short? Could you post a photo of your cable? Thanks
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 05:04 PM
  #3
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Rajul,


Wanted to post pick of cable but it keep coming out blurred. Do you have any pics of where wires on plug going into the transmitter are supposed to be soldered I could try and copy?

Jeff
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 05:15 PM
  #4
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Here's a pic of the internal soldering connection. I recommend an additional soldering between the post and the lug as shown to prevent intermittent connection.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12425.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	10.0 KB
ID:	1784056  
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:01 AM
  #5
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Rajul,

Thanks for the pic. I tried to solder the plug as shown and no luck. I noticed the Aerofly website sells a slave interface cable with plug in thumb drive for $34.95? Would this work on my Aerofly 1.8.0.17 edition if I buy it ? Also, if I do purchase it would I need to buy anything else in addition to the cable?

Jeff.......
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:45 PM
  #6
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Jeff, how old is your AFPD since you purchased it? Please post a photo of your usb cable so that I can tell which version it is. Are you getting any error messages in AFPD?
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:20 AM
  #7
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Rajul,

The version of AFPD I'm using is 1.8.0.17 and I'm not getting any error messages? Whats happening is my stick inputs have little or intermittent effect on the models. I re soldered the plug per you photo but still no luck. I would love to send you pic of cable but I cant get them to upload correctly to RCU. I upload pics all the time using my regular email with no problems. Am I missing something here?

Jeff.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Da83638.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1784432  
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:25 AM
  #8
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Here the rest of the pics I think?

[img][/img][img]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48420.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	1784433   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge95734.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	1784434  
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 06:38 AM
  #9
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Jeff, your usb interface is a very old design and is most likely outside the 2-year warranty. I would suggest that you purchase a replacement usb cable from Ikarus USA. The replacement cable will be of the latest "usb key" design, and you will be able to use it when you choose to upgrade to AF5.

The old usb interface cable has to be returned to Ikarus USA. The cable will be exchanged for $29.95 plus S&H 8.95. Call Frank.

IKARUS-USA,
Service Department
1136 NE Pine Island Road, Unit 83
Cape Coral, FL 33909
Phone: 877-550-AERO (2376)
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 07:29 AM
  #10
Cyclops1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Rajul,

Thanks for the information I will contact "Frank" at Ikarus on Monday.....

Jeff....
Cyclops1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 07:55 AM
  #11
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AFPD Interface Cable Shorting Out

Most welcomed. Let me know if you need anything else.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:02 PM.