Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Reply
Old 07-29-2012, 02:26 AM
  #1
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Have just tried to install my DSX9 with Aerofly, yet it is not being recognised. Tried my 18MZ as well still no recognition. I have been using the program with the Aerofly game commander, do I need to re-install the software to get it to recognise the new radio adaptor? I have the USB link and the right adaptor, tried all combinations and still no luck. My Futaba 6 channel worked ok with it, I no longer have that.

I'm using a Mac and have the radio's in the required trainer mode.

JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 02:56 AM
  #2
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Please post a photo of your cable connections from the transmitter to the computer
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:14 AM
  #3
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Hi Mike, see below. I used the same connections with my 18MZ.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd93022.jpeg
Views:	59
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	1787195  
JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:30 AM
  #4
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Any help appreciated. Thank you.
JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:44 AM
  #5
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Which version of Aerofly do you have eg. AFPD, AF5? Did you purchase the game commander version or the usb interface version? The usb interface in your photo looks like the slave cable.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:00 AM
  #6
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

I purchased the Game commander version, not good for the normal radio? It is AF5, my old version was the USB version.
JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:37 AM
  #7
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

You said you purchased the GC version of AF5. Then you said the "old version" is the usb interface version. What is the "old version". This is a bit confusing. Could you explain clearly.

Also, please post a photo of your game commander.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:21 AM
  #8
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Sorry, I didn't explain myself very well. My previous Aerofly was AF5, it didn't come with the game commander. I gave that and my 6 channel Futaba to a friend of mine who wanted to learn how to fly RC. I purchased this new AF5 to replace it with the game commander, I thought the program would also work with my Futaba 18MZ or JR DSX9 transmitter and purchased the adaptors as well. I may have been mistaken.

Photo attached, I'm happy with the system and will use the game commander if that is all that works with my system. To be frank, I don't like to use my flying radio's on a computer simulator anyway.

Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21298.jpeg
Views:	34
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	1787217  
JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:38 AM
  #9
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

OK, now I understand you better. What you have now is the GC version of AF5, and you have an Ikarus slave usb cable. Well, you could use your own transmitter - you need to plug in both the GC (the GC has a security code) and the slave usb cable into two separate usb ports in your computer. Then just setup your transmitter in AF5 as per the instruction manual.

The connections for Futaba and JR/Spektrum is as per the attached diagrams. Your transmitters should not be in trainer mode! They should be in PPM mode. Check the transmitter manuals. I am not sure about the 18MZ but for my 14MZ I have the FM module plugged in. My frequency menu shows that I am using the 8-channel PPM modulation. The other two modulations available are the 12-channel PPM (N1.3) and 12-channel PPM (N1.5). The N represents the PPM pulse width. I think the 8-channel PPM is using N1.0 by default, which is the standard PPM modulation that is compatible with the usb interface.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pm34956.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	1787218   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34818.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	1787219  
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:42 AM
  #10
JamF4U
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

Thanks Mike, I'll try that and get back to you in the next day or two. I meant to say the radio's were in Student mode. Hope it works. Sorry for the confusion.

Regards

Jam.
JamF4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:43 AM
  #11
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DSX9/18MZ and Aerofly

No problems, glad to help
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:25 AM.