Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

DX7 problems

Reply
Old 09-07-2012, 08:54 PM
  #1
Neko
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DX7 problems

Hi all,

I just bought Aerofly 5.7 for use with my MacBook Pro and 4-year-old DX7. I got the stereo-mono adapter, I am using the servo-like stick connector and it is connected according to the picture on the Ikarus web site, I've checked that all the plugs are securely fastened, I've tried all the different trainer modes and position of the trainer switch. But still, the program does not see the DX7 properly. It thinks that there is a USB adapter and controller present, but when I go into the Calibration window, the program does not detect any movement of the sticks.

I am out of ideas. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

David
Neko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 01:32 AM
  #2
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems

Dave, could you post a photo of your cable connection from the computer to your DX7? You should disable the trainer mode. Although the DX6/DX7 radio is DSM (not PCM or PPM), the signal from the trainer port is tapped before any modulation is applied and is PPM compatible, and therefore works with AF5. There is nothing to set in the radio, but an AF5 JR stereo-to-mono adapter cable is required. Leave the DX7 switched off before plugging in the adapter cable. The radio will automatically switch on when the adapter cable is plugged into the radio. The radio will not work with AF5 if it is manually switched on before inserting the adapter cable.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 05:44 AM
  #3
Neko
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rajul

Dave, could you post a photo of your cable connection from the computer to your DX7? You should disable the trainer mode. Although the DX6/DX7 radio is DSM (not PCM or PPM), the signal from the trainer port is tapped before any modulation is applied and is PPM compatible, and therefore works with AF5. There is nothing to set in the radio, but an AF5 JR stereo-to-mono adapter cable is required. Leave the DX7 switched off before plugging in the adapter cable. The radio will automatically switch on when the adapter cable is plugged into the radio. The radio will not work with AF5 if it is manually switched on before inserting the adapter cable.
Thanks, rajul. The secret was turning off the transmitter.

Does it say this anywhere in the manuals? I could not find it in the main manual or the USB instruction insert.

David

Neko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 05:53 AM
  #4
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems

OK, sounds good to me! No, this is not in the manual as it is very dependent on the type of transmitter.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:05 AM
  #5
Neko
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rajul

OK, sounds good to me! No, this is not in the manual as it is very dependent on the type of transmitter.
I see. It would be nice if somewhere there were a table on the web site that listed the transmitters, which cables connections went with them, and whether the transmitter should be on or off, and that sort of thing. Or in the manual a note that said to try it with the transmitter off if it doesn't work when it's on.
Neko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:12 AM
  #6
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems

I'll provide your feedback to Ikarus. In any case, you could drop me a line here if you have any questions.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:26 AM
  #7
iflytailies
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 494
Default RE: DX7 problems

do all Spektrum radios need to be switched off, or just the Dx7?
iflytailies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:40 AM
  #8
rajul
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX7 problems

I am not able to test all of them, but I think its true for DX6 and 7. Same thing applies for most of Futaba newer generation radios with the square micro-connector. It all depends on how the trainer port and adapter cable are designed. The radios that automatically turn on when the adapter cable is plugged in normally also disables radio transmission such that you don't have to remove the module. This is a safety feature to prevent overheating of the transmission circuits when using Aerofly. If you have to turn on the radio manually for Aerofly to work, then you would have to disable the radio transmission by removing the module, or through the radio software.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:50 PM.