Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hill County, TX
    Posts
    160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    I purchased AFP version 1.2.6 several years back from OMP and have had many hours of fun and training from it. I have the "Y" cable for my HiTec Flash 5 transmitter and the cable which has a 9 pin serial connector to connect to the PC. Since my old PC has served it's purpose and is no longer in use, I would like to move the old AFP and vol 1 add-ons to my 1 yr old emachines desktop. It has a dual core AMD at 2+ ghz and 4 gb ram, windows 7 64 bit. The video is way above what I had in the old PC. The new machine does not have the old 9 pin serial ports, but I do have a serial to usb converter that ran my usRobotics modem very well. Do you think the AFP could be installed on the new machine and work with the serial to usb converter? Any help you could provide would be very much appreciated!

    Thank you for your time and effort on this forum!

    Gary

  2. #2
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,089
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    Hi Gary, AFP is quite an old software and in fact it is no more supported by Ikarus. Frankly, I have not tried running it in Win7 with a serial-usb converter but it will cause no harm to give it a try. Which video card do you have in your new PC? A while ago, Ikarus was offering an AFP to AFPD upgrade, in which you'll have to send in your old AFP disk and serial cable, and make a reduced payment for AFPD. I am not sure if this is still available but I could check it out for you. I think if your PC can meet the required specification to run AFPD, or even AF5, you should get AFPD or AF5 because they have so much more to offer in terms of realism and flight physics. Let me know your thoughts on this. Here's a link where you can get more info on AFPD and AF5 http://www.aerofly.com/index.html
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  3. #3
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,089
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    Gary, I received the following info from Ikarus USA:

    There is no more upgrade from the old Aerofly Pro to the Aerofly Professional Deluxe available. We offer only the upgrade from AFPD to AF5 for $139.00. But right now we have a SALE on AFPDs:

    Aerofly Professional Deluxe Interface Version for $116.90, down from $129.90. This is the Platinum Edition which includes all the addons

    Here is the link: http://shop.ikarus-usa.com/aerofly-professional/
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hill County, TX
    Posts
    160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    Mike,

    Thank you for your quick response and excellent advice! While looking at the AFPD info on the website, I ran across the latest patch 1.6.X and instructions for installation. After I got all loaded up, the software ran, but could not see my controller through the usb to serial adapter. I searched and found a good windows 7 driver for the usb adapter. It all works great now, I have time to save up some cash for the AeroFly 5 before too long. Your customer service is right up there with the best in the business and my next flight sim will be AeroFly AF5!

    Gary

  5. #5
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,089
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    Gary, great to hear that it all works with the latest patch. Thanks for your kind words and have fun!
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Locust, NC
    Posts
    659
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    I've done all of the above downloads & patches, and still no cigar. When I try to start up, AFPD is not able to find the com port. Any suggestions?
    Chuck

  7. #7
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,089
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Installing AFP (not AFPD) on Windows 7 - 64

    Chuck, please start a new thread on your question as per the forum rules.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.