Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wilmette, IL
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Jeti Transmitter via USB

    I have a new Jeti DS-16 that I am trying to use with Aerofly on the Mac. The Jeti web site says "DC/DS transmitters act as standard 8 axis joystick after being connected to PC, thus it is possible to control simulators, such as MS Flight Simulator, FMS or AeroFly Professional Deluxe." I plugged in the Jeti via USB and it is indeed recognized by the computer: I can see it in "About this Mac", and I can access the control signals from other programs. But I can't get Aerofly to recognize it.

    I start with the Ikarus USB-to-PPM converter connected to my DX7, and that works as usual. Then I plug in the Jeti and hit Scan For New Controllers. All that comes up is "USB Interface #1" as a 12-channel controller, and callibration does not work. When I close out of the Calibration window, neither DX7 nor the Jeti now work.

    Any suggestions?

    David

  2. #2
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,095
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi David, I have no experience with Jeti radios. Is there a link to the DS-16 instruction manual? Are you running AFPD or Aerofly5? It could be many things. Please post a photo of your cable connection from the radio to the computer.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wilmette, IL
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi Rajul,

    It's AF5.

    I have the Ikarus USB-to-PPM converter plugged into the computer and my Spektrum DX7 goes to that. With this setup, the program works fine, as usual. But in addition, the Jeti's built-in USB connector is plugged directly into a second USB connector on the computer. The Jeti gets recognized by the Mac operating system as a standard joystick or "Human Interface Device".

    My question is whether the Jeti can be used as a second controller, in addition to whatever is plugged into the Ikarus? In other words, can AF5 recognize any standard joystick device and use it as a second controller?

    With both devices plugged in, I have tried the Scan-For-New-Controller option in the program. The dialog box that comes up shows a generic 12-channel controller that doesn't seem to be related to either the Ikarus/DX7 or the Jeti. And when I close that dialog box, the Ikarus/DX7 stops working and I have to restart the program.

    Thanks,

    David

  4. #4
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,095
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    David, please post a photo of your cable connection from the radio to the computer.This is the first thing I need to check.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wilmette, IL
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Here's a photo, Mike.

    The DX7 (right) goes in through the Ikarus converter. I added a few connectors to the line (white plastic) but that has no effect on its function.

    The Jeti (left) connects directly via a mini-USB connector on the top. It is not a PPM connection but the Jeti appears to the computer as a joystick device, which I would like Aerofly to recognize.

    David
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jeti connection.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	1.02 MB 
ID:	1913159  

  6. #6
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,095
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks for the photo. Does the Jeti have a trainer or DSC port with PPM output signal?
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wilmette, IL
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    You can install one by removing one of the switches and replacing it with a PPM output connector, or drilling a new hole in the case for the connector. This breaks the FCC compliance of the radio. Also, with a PPM connector you would have to buy an additional PMM-to-USB converter, which I was hoping to avoid. Since the USB connector is already there, I was hoping to use it.

  8. #8
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,095
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    In order to work with AF5, the output must be in PPM mode.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wilmette, IL
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Ok. Too bad, though. There are lots of nice joystick devices that would work well as second controllers for Aerofly. Of course you would need the Ikarus converter to be plugged in as the dongle, but it would be nice if the program read standard joystick devices.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.