Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,836
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Question AFPD - No Transmitter Detected

    I've been using my 9503 with AFPD for three years.
    Just turned the sim on after being away from it for a few months and the error message is saying that the
    Dongle is detected, but the transmitter isn't.


    The scenario is that there is a dongle plugged in to the computer, there is a special phone jack cord going from the dongle in
    the computer to an adapter which is about 6 or so inches long that goes to the transmitter.

    I'm thinking maybe when my daughter vacuumed the room, the short 6" adapter near the transmitter was laying on the
    floor and it got caught up in the brush or something, not sure?


    This has always worked, and nothing is changed on the machine as this is all I do with this particular computer.
    It's not even hooked to the internet.

    What can I look for?
    How can I troubleshoot or ring out the adapter?

    If the adapter is bad, what are my options?

    Thanks
    Bob

  2. #2
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Bob, there could be an open connection between the dongle Tx. You could use a multimeter to check for any open in the adapter first. Could you post a photo of the dongle and adapter you have? You could purchase a replacement usb dongle and adapter, but I would try to isolate the open connection first.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,836
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Thumbs up Dongle Pic

    Looks like this MIGHT be you 8000th post.
    Yikes!
    Congrats.

    Here's a picture of the dongle and adapter.
    What is the 3 wire JR looking plug?

    How would I ring out the dongle exactly?

    Thanks for any help
    Bob
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dongle_adapter.JPG 
Views:	20 
Size:	1.83 MB 
ID:	1936546  

  4. #4
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Bob, you should first check that your Tx is in PPM mode. Did you change any settings in the Tx?

    Then check that you have all the cables connected correctly as per the attached diagram. You might want to "jiggle" the connector going into the Tx, and also other connector joints, to see if there is any intermittent connection.

    If both the above do not show any issues, then get ready your multimeter to check for any open or shorts in your adapter cable. and the 2.5mm connector cable. For the adapter cable, unscrew the rubber boot in the female connector, then probe the two solder joints with respect to the male connector (tip and barrel). Then probe the 2.5mm connector cable.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connection3.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	150.4 KB 
ID:	1936823  
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,836
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I got it working. The cables rang out OK, and the only anomaly I found was that the mouse didn't work
    this time after booting up.

    Not really sure what happened exactly, and we'll see if it continues to work.

    Once again, what are the two inputs for on the black USB device?

    Also, why is the small extension at the end of the 2.mm cable needed since it will in theory plug right into the transmitter?

    By the way, since I have a native 2.4 transmitter, there was no choice for modulation.
    That had me going for awhile.

    Thanks for you help, and I'll keep you posted.

    Take Care
    Bob

  6. #6
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by bob_nj View Post
    I got it working. The cables rang out OK, and the only anomaly I found was that the mouse didn't work
    this time after booting up.

    Not really sure what happened exactly, and we'll see if it continues to work. [I don't think this has anything to do with the mouse as your usb device was recognized but not the Tx. You could have had an intermittent connection somewhere which "recovered"]

    Once again, what are the two inputs for on the black USB device? [Could you point out which specific inputs in a photo?]

    Also, why is the small extension at the end of the 2.mm cable needed since it will in theory plug right into the transmitter? [The short colored cable is needed because JR/Spektrum use an optical converter in the Tx]

    By the way, since I have a native 2.4 transmitter, there was no choice for modulation.
    That had me going for awhile.

    Thanks for you help, and I'll keep you posted.

    Take Care
    Bob
    Bob, my comments in brackets
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,836
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Can't get a picture right now, but the black USB device that plugs into the computer has tow inputs.
    One is the JR looking pigtail extension, and the other is a hole in the black plastic part of the device.

    [The short colored cable is needed because JR/Spektrum use an optical converter in the Tx]
    That short cable just looks like two wires and two connectors.
    What is so special about it, and where is the converter?

    Thanks again
    Bob

  8. #8
    Moderator rajul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Missouri City, TX
    Posts
    8,083
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Bob, the "JR looking pigtail extension" is the short colored cable I was referring to, which is plugged into the RC connector input of the usb device. There is an electronics circuitry inside to do the voltage conversions for JR/Spektrum radios. This has something to do with the signal voltage levels coming from the trainer or DSC port.

    The other purpose of the RC connector is for the wireless system from Ikarus.

    The 2.5mm "hole" connector is for the cinch cable to be plugged directly into it for Futaba and other radios. These radios do not need the short colored cable.
    Mike Marks
    RCU Moderator
    Aerofly Support Representative http://www.aerofly.com/index.html

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    3,836
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks Mike

    So far it's still working ok.

    You take care
    Bob


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.