Ikarus Aerofly flight simulators Get the answers to your technical questions about Ikarus' Aerofly flight simulators here in their official support forum

AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Reply
Old 04-04-2009, 08:17 AM
  #1
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Dear AeroFly Users,

we are happy to announce that AeroFly Professional Deluxe is finally available on Apple computers with Mac OS X 10.5. Please note that this is a native Mac version and therefore does not require any Bootcamp or Virtual machines like Parallels Desktop. The Mac edition of AeroFly is identical to the AeroFly Professional Deluxe Platinum Edition for Windows and includes all AddOn's from 1 to 5. This gives a total of

118 Models
33 Photo Sceneries
13 3D sceneries

AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X is available either as a full version or as a Crossgrade for existing AeroFly users. Details and pricing are available on the Ikarus Germany website, and will be available on the Hobby Lobby USA website soon. The system requirements are as follows:

Apple Mac with Intel CPU
Mac OS X Leopard ( 10.5 and above)
ATI or NVIDIA based 3D-graphics card with 128MB RAM
1 GB RAM
DVD drive
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22638.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	1172280  
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 08:18 AM
  #2
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Here's the link to the Ikarus Germany website http://www.ikarus-modellbau.de/onlin...bcbf0.18629485
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 09:42 AM
  #3
flaviosi
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Mike!

This is great, great news!! How do I crossgrade???

Thanks,

Flavio
flaviosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 05:32 PM
  #4
flaviosi
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Mike,

I noticed that there's no crossversion on the German website... Will Hobby-lobby sell those?

Thanks

Flavio
flaviosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:59 AM
  #5
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

A crossgrade is simple: if you already have AFPD, all you need to buy is the crossgrade DVD for mac os x. You will use the same AFPD usb interface cable or game commander that you already have. Here's the Ikarus Germany link http://www.ikarus-modellbau.de/onlin...4/tpl/-/lang/1
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 11:27 AM
  #6
flaviosi
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL
Posts: 308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Mike,

I'm very excited and anxious to get it!!! Why DVD? Why not downloading? It would avoid me, for example, import taxes. I know the file is probably huge, but in these days of high speed Internet it should not be a problem...

Flavio
flaviosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:53 PM
  #7
bobjones05
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

FINALLY !!!!!

Thank you so much for making a MAC SIM!!! Any word on how to get it??? Spoke with Hobby Lobby and they said it would be about a month before they would get it in stock - round May. Any other way to get it???

THANKS AGAIN!!!!
-all Mac users!!!!
bobjones05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 05:36 PM
  #8
clm
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

This is sweet news. The best sim just got ported to the best operating system.
Standing by
clm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 01:41 PM
  #9
manflying
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

I am from Singapore. Any idea where can I get a copy of Aerofly Professional Deluxe PLATINUM EDITION with Interface for your own transmitter (for MAC).
Send 3 email to ikarus eShop 3 days ago for some enquire but no reply, dunno what is happening. Can anyone from here advice? Thanks
manflying is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:00 PM
  #10
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Manflying, pls see the link in post #2
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 06:12 AM
  #11
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

The installation instructions can be found in a readme file:

AeroFly Professional Deluxe
Version 1.11.07.23
2009-03-18
IPACS (www.aerofly.com)

AeroFly Professional Deluxe is a rc-model aircraft simulator for Mac OS X (10.5).

Please refer to http://www.aerofly.com for further information, updates and free downloads.

System Requirements
AeroFly Professional Deluxe requires an Intel based MAC computer running Mac OS X 10.5 (or newer) with an OpenGL 2.0 capable 3D graphics card from NVIDIA or ATI/AMD.

Installation
Do not run (double click) the app from this disk image. Instead copy the folder AeroFly Professional Deluxe to any place you like (the preferred place for AeroFly Professional Deluxe on Mac OS X is the User application folder ~/Applications).

Notes for the MAC OS X Version
Please note that the current version of AeroFly Professional Deluxe does not support music playback.
This MAC OS X Version includes the AeroFly Professional Deluxe AddOn's 3, 4 and 5. In order to use the models and sceneries of these AddOn's you need to activate them first. To activate follow the instructions within AeroFly. When asked for a Product-Key, type in the 16 digit Product-Key that is printed on your AeroFly Professional Deluxe DVD.
In order for AeroFly Professional Deluxe to work smoothly on slower 3D graphics card, the default texture quality setting is set to Medium. For maximum visual quality go to the Options menu with AeroFly Professional Deluxe and set the "Texture Quality" to High.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 06:13 AM
  #12
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Here is a list of suitable video cards that will meet OpenGL2.0:

Quadro FX 5600
GeForce 8600/8800/9400/9600
Quadro FX 4500
GeForce 6600/6800/7300/7600/7800

Radeon HD 2600 Radeon HD 2400 Radeon X1600/X1900
Radeon X800 Radeon 9600/9700/9800/X600
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 01:58 AM
  #13
GoeKeli
 
GoeKeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 3,713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Hi Mike, thanks for the great news. Hobby lobby does not have the crossgrade listed. When will it be available, or is there another vendor in the USA that can help me?

Joe
GoeKeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 04:38 AM
  #14
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Hi Joe, not yet but hopefully by this month. You could it directly from Ikarus Germany now http://www.ikarus-modellbau.de/onlin...4/tpl/-/lang/1
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 02:46 PM
  #15
GoeKeli
 
GoeKeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 3,713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

THanks Mike, I might wait for HL to post it for sale. Over seas prices and shipping makes it unappealing price wise.

Any user feed back yet on the Crossgrade for OSX?

Joe
GoeKeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 04:52 PM
  #16
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Has anybody used the Aerofly Simulator for the Mac? Hobby Lobby said there is software problems and will not be available until the end of summer but I know you can buy it in Europe.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:58 PM
  #17
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

There is no software issues with the mac version. For the time being you would have to get it directly from Ikarus Germany. I will provide an update on availability in the USA as soon as I get it.
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:53 AM
  #18
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Hobby Lobby could never give me a straight answer.    I think I will buy the product from a English source.   I am excited to try it out.  Thanks for responding.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:55 AM
  #19
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

When I get the Aerofly  for the Mac I will give a review.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:06 PM
  #20
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

I live in Los Angeles and I received my Mac Aerofly today. I ordered it from Sussex Model Center in England http://www.sussex-model-centre.co.uk/ ask for Nick and he will set up the purchase for you. It took 5 days to get from England to California. Hobby Lobby does not carry the Mac version. I am in the process of setting it up now.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:17 AM
  #21
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Bart, hope you have everthing setup and running fine
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:16 AM
  #22
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Been using my Aerofly for the Mac for a few weeks now and I love it. I spend hours flying different planes and it really helps with my skills at the field. Once again I recommend this to anyone with a Mac.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 12:34 AM
  #23
GoeKeli
 
GoeKeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 3,713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Thats great to hear bart4u, how is downloading planes and installing them etc? Does it work the same as PC or???
GoeKeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:28 AM
  #24
bart4u
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

I have not downloaded any planes yet. I think this version has every plane they have in the software. Even though I had to buy the Mac version in England which was close to 200.00, it was worth the extra cost compared to the US PC version. I would consider myself a beginner and the simulator had improved my flying skills. I was at the field today and I flew my Common Sense four channel trainer with no problems. The electric trainer on the simulator had the same characteristics as my plane. Landing the plane was just like the simulator. My Common Sense Quatro plane is fun to fly and my first plane was the Hobbyzone Super Cub. I mostly fly the warbirds in the simulator now and I am am going to buy the Parkzone T28 and Corsair and in the future I would like to get the new Hanger 9 Nitro P51 Mustang with the retract landing gear plus 3D flight has got my interest too. I was also happy with the Spektrum DX7 I bought for my planes and the simulator. If you are ever in Glendale, CA Robin's Hobby is a great store to pick up any equipment and parts for your flying needs. Robin is very helpful with his advise and his prices are great. There is a reason his store is always busy. Great customer service. http://www.robinshobby.com/ I guess you could say I have the flying bug now.
bart4u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 11:15 AM
  #25
rajul
Thread Starter
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AeroFly Professional Deluxe for Mac OS X 10.5 and above

Quote:
ORIGINAL: GoeKeli

Thats great to hear bart4u, how is downloading planes and installing them etc? Does it work the same as PC or???
Hi GoeKeli, generally they should work unless the aircraft file name has uppercase letters. Changing the uppercase to lowercase might or might not work depending on whether the tmg, tmd, etc files are using uppercase. Good models usually use lowercase file names.

The other thing to note is that mac users have to open EXE based model installations using a zip program.

Hope this helps
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:40 PM.