IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

IMAC Newbie Questions

Old 08-14-2003, 02:01 PM
southern_touch9
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IMAC Newbie Questions

Hey Guys,

I have been flying freestle/3D for the past 4 years and "sunday flying for the past 9 1/2 years. The other day a few guys were at the field and watched me fly and they were trying to convince me to fly IMAC. It didnt take much conviencing before I cheerfully agreed to compete starting in Jan. of next year. I have read over the rules trying to figure out what plane I could fly in the sportsman class and I ended up going with the 33% Sukhoi from Hanger 9. I came close to buying a 40% kit but that would put me too far away from flying it. I noticed the rules said something about a pilot figure. Is the points they take off really worth the weight or expense of the figure? I have never really liked the way they look anyhow.

P.S. I will see you at the Joe Nall Masters (of course I will probobly be just watching )
Old 08-14-2003, 04:55 PM
Baron Johnson

It may not seem important now in the early stages of your IMAC career, but when you get competitive (could be your first contest, could be a year), that slight penalty could decide a close contest.

Glad you're going to fly in the SE region next year! See ya at a contest sometime.
Old 08-14-2003, 08:34 PM
EXCAP232
My Feedback: (12)

Default Weight $ or Penalty

The penalty is for missing either or both a pilot or dash panel. In the plane you have chosen you wouldn't notice the difference (unless constructed of solid lead).

The following is from the AMA rules:

5.5 A realistic 3 dimensional human pilot and viewable
instrument panel shall be appropriately installed in all Scale
Aerobatic aircraft. (A one (1) percent flight score penalty will be
assessed for non-compliance.)

While this may not seem like a lot it will become a factor as you progress.

EXCAP232
Old 08-14-2003, 09:04 PM
southern_touch9