IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Ultimate Snaps?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2003, 11:40 PM
glidepath
My Feedback: (11)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ultimate Snaps?

can anyone out there comment on the snap characteristics of the aeroworks ultimate, or for that matter ultimates in general?

are they fast, slow, pretictible, do they stop precicely, same positive and negative?

it seems that a lot of people think that these are really great sequence planes, i see the advantages in rolling maneuvers with the rudder authority, but was wondering if there is a penalty paid in snaps.

thanks
Old 09-17-2003, 09:46 AM
Blow n Go

Default RE: Ultimate Snaps?

Hey,
I've been flying nothing but Ultimates for the last 3 years, and they are all about the same. They will snap hard and fast, and stop instantly, if..........
It takes low rate elevator and rudder, and high rate aileron. Too much elevator and aileron will make a very "wallowy" snap with 30 degrees of heading change - not good for pattern work. If you have any trouble with soft completions, it is a problem with the servos not having enough power on the rudder and/or the ailerons to re-center the surfaces. Right now I have the AW 42% with JR 8411's all around, and they produce very clean snaps with instant stops. I did put four servos on the rudder, which is one more than AW recommends.
The up-line snaps will bleed off energy fast. There is a lot of wing area you are throwing into the wind. If you have to carry a long up line with snaps, you need lots of power (I mean LOTS OF POWER!), or learn to do the TOC style snap. (lead with elevator, but then take the elevator out for the rest of the snap.) If the plane slows during pattern maneuvers, you end up having to really fly it with all three controls until the speed comes back up. If you keep the speed up, it behaves nicely.