IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Which EXTRA300 ARF?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2006, 07:44 PM
Darkbird
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which EXTRA300 ARF?

Well, here's the deal. I currently have the old Hanger9 Extra330L 33% airframe. Last season on the last flight(obviosly) I had a battery failure that resulted in a bad landing. Knocked the firewall off, along with some other minor damage. Although the airframe is easily repairable, I had already considered replacing it before this happened. Seems to be a bit heavy and no provision for a canister muffler.
I have a ZDZ80rv engine with stock muffler, and am running 2 servos per aileron, one on each elevator half, two on the rudder. I would like to upgrade to a can muffler for the engine.
What I am looking for is some ideas on an airframe. Building a kit isn't an option as I am a long haul truck driver and I get precious little flying time as it is and no building time at all. Cost is aslo a factor(can't afford to pay someone to build a kit for me).
The things I am looking for are:
1. Extra 300, any variant(in other words, plz don't tell me about your edge, cap, Etc..). This is a personal prefference and nothing more.
2. Scale of 30-33%. This fits the equipment I already have.
3. ARF or ARC(I could MAKE the time to cover an airframe.)
4. Ability to accept or be modified to accept a canister muffler.(alot of bark in that ZDZ)
5. COST!! I fly on a limited budget so I have to get the most out of every dollar. I am still willing to pay more for quality though.
6. 3D ability. I fly mostly for fun, but would also like to start competing when I get the time.
I haven't started any research on this yet, was wanting to get some opinions on what has worked for others. Also, I apologize in advance if I have open a can of Brand name worms with this post. Thank you all, opinions/suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-23-2006, 10:42 PM
Ryans Rebel
My Feedback: (12)