IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Practice With the Simulator?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2006, 12:43 AM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Practice With the Simulator?

I'm trying to get ready for my first IMAC event this year. It's this Saturday and Sunday. Basic class. I haven't flown the IMAC plane in 2yrs. Need to put new batteries in it, and cut a new cowl for it. Other than that--provided the engine will start and run--the plane is ready to go.

Is it going to help me if I practice on the Simulator for a week or is that just a waste of time?

I'm going to the field at least 3 days this week and fly the real plane too. I'm nervous as hell. I have the sequences memorized when flying the sim. but not sure I can run through them when I'm flying the real one. (pucker factor will be quite high) Just working on my lines and tracking. This sim doesn't fly like my real plane though.

What do you guys think? I'm basically a newbie at IMAC. I flew 5 contests 3 yrs ago, and that's the extent of my IMAC experience.

Thanks
Old 06-13-2006, 08:18 AM
MikeEast
My Feedback: (3)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Practice With the Simulator?

I fly pattern more than IMAC but in general, the sim as you have already said is great for learning the sequence. It will by repetition help you to memorize the pattern and that will translate out to the real thing. I use my sim a LOT and it has helped my tremendously, but it cant replace actual stick time on the real thing.

As far as actually refining the maneuvers, it can help you to learn the correct inputs for a given maneuver and teach you rudder corrections and stuff like that. But as you know, real planes and sim planes fly differently and you are dealing with 2D vs. 3D, so you cannot replicate that on a sim. Not really.