IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Turbo Raven.

Reply

Old 01-15-2003, 08:17 PM
  #1  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Hey Guys,

I will have the Turbo Raven at the Pasadena show this weekend for those who are interested.

Also should have the new turbo prop from JD Enterprises to view.

Take Care

David.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47573_330.jpg
Views:	871
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	29441  
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 10:40 PM
  #2  
matlok
Senior Member
 
matlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tupelo, MS
Posts: 515
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Man, that thing is gorgeous! Can you post some specs? It looks about 35%? And it has a REAL turbo-prop?!? You really did a great job. Do you plan on taking it to Toledo this year?
matlok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 11:18 PM
  #3  
Silvanskii
My Feedback: (17)
 
Silvanskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

My god! I have always loved this plane! Looks stunning man, wow! Is this that British company's 35%?

Coming up to OH anytime soon ??!
Silvanskii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 11:35 PM
  #4  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven

Hello,

Thanks for the kind words, Bob Francis deserves all the credit for this model. I am now manufacturing the kit and it is 3rd scale. Currently this plane is powered by a Mac. 85 but JD Enterprises have just finished his Turbo prop which is now available. I have been told by Tad at Golden West models that the new Turbo Prop produces a huge amount of thrust. 35 +lbs with a 24 10 prop. This was also only at 80% power. As far as Toledo I don't know that I will have the time or not to attend.


Feel Free to give me a call if you have any more questions

650-355-2052

Take Care.

David.

PS you can see more pictures of the Raven in my Gallery
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 11:41 PM
  #5  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Raven

No, this is not the British plane. This plane was designed/ built here in the states by Bob Francis.
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 11:48 PM
  #6  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default More pictures.

Guess I have not updated my personal gallery as I thought.

Go to this site to see more pictures :

http://pages.sbcglobal.net/davidmosher/_wsn/page2.html
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 12:05 AM
  #7  
BRYAN01601
My Feedback: (48)
 
BRYAN01601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: west hartford, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

ANY FLIGHT VIDEOS ???
BRYAN01601 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 12:49 AM
  #8  
Cody-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

I hate to be the shmuck, but is it 3D capable?
Cody-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 01:27 AM
  #9  
matlok
Senior Member
 
matlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tupelo, MS
Posts: 515
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Originally posted by Cody
I hate to be the shmuck, but is it 3D capable?
I was kinda wondering the same thing.

If so, I wondoer if it will 3d with the GW turboprop in it - can you imagine the sound of a turbine/turboprop hovering right in your face 3" off the deck? ( !!! )

I like how the cylinder heads are "camoflaged" by making them turbine "exahust" stacks. Slick! Does that long nose cause any balance problems?
matlok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 01:47 AM
  #10  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Raven 3d

Hey Guys,

Currently on the Mac 85 the raven will hover but just barely; it will not power out with great agility. If you want true 3D you will need to use a Desert aircraft 100 or equivalent engine. As far as the Turbo prop and 3D right now we are in the early stages of putting the power plant into the airframe. I personally think that we will need a constant speed prop or something similar to a idle up function on a helicopter to obtain the fast throttle response that is needed for true 3D flight.

But I cant wait to take the Raven to a jet meet and have the guys say ah you can't fly that today; this is a jet meet. and I will just start up the turbine and watch their jaws spring open

Anyway I hope to meet some of you in Pasadena this weekend.

I have to get back to gluing fiberglass to my fingers

Take Care

David.

PS. The plane weighs 24 lbs and no the long nose dose not cause any balance problems. Yes I do have videos but nothing posted on the net yet.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47643_330.jpg
Views:	670
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	29442  
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:45 PM
  #11  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

a well
there is only one turbo raven and thats with turbine



here some pics
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:51 PM
  #12  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

more pics
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:52 PM
  #13  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

and more
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:53 PM
  #14  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

inside electronics and pumps
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:54 PM
  #15  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

and offcourse the original raven
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:56 PM
  #16  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

these exhausts are real ;-)
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 03:58 PM
  #17  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

tech specs:
The power levels are simply astonishing. The engine can produce more than 3 times the power of the engine unit on its own. Max power is approx 7.1 Hp or 5.1 Kw. Tests have been concluded at 155K rpm on a 21" X 10" prop. The temperature is still cool enough to increase revs but this would exceed the safe speed of the prop. The static thrust is in the order of 30- 35lbs. At these power levels the Workmate is starting to try and take off and a more solid stand or extra helpers are needed. Idle is currently set at 45K which gives 1,700 rpm on the 21" X10" prop. The weight of the unit including engine and gearbox is 1.6KG. Fuel consumption on the prototype was 0.0383 grams/sec/N or 3.8 grams/sec at 18 lbs thrust. This compares to a pure jet KJ66 at 0.0522 grams/sec/N at a similar thrust. The unit is using the FADEC autostart in full autostart mode

the plane:

Build/designed By ATI manufacturing www.atimanufacturing.co.uk
The Raven is a true scale model of the Famous Turboraven from Oracle
The model is fully detailed incl all specs
Span : 2.70 Meters
Lenght: 2.60 Meters
Weight 13.6 kilo,s incl RC (No fuel)
Fuel: Jet-a1 or parafine with a mix of 5 % Turbine oil
Take off weight: 18 kilo,s incl full tank
Max fly time: 15 minutes ( 1.2 liters on a 12 minute display
Performance :
Full 3d Vertical unlimited, the more power you give, the more she climbs
Turbine is set to 150000 rpm still leaving 10000 rpm,s but to dangerous because of overreving the Prop (mentz 22/10 3blade)
Handling : fly,s very nice even at slow speeds
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:36 PM
  #18  
Cody-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Wow...That's one of the coolest things I 've ever seen. You're truly pushing the limits of model aviation, Sandor. Well done.
Cody-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:50 PM
  #19  
Traxxas_Tech
Senior Member
My Feedback: (22)
 
Traxxas_Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 753
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Uh oh.... I want one....

Traxxas_Tech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 08:21 AM
  #20  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Originally posted by Cody
Wow...That's one of the coolest things I 've ever seen. You're truly pushing the limits of model aviation, Sandor. Well done.
Thanks


you are right

and can you imagine its just 6 months ago i picked up this hobby again, after leaving it for 10 years
some say i have gone mental to invest over 7000 usd on a model aircraft
but then My wife costs more then that.............
i also have a 3.20 span Pilatus Porter PC6
scale 1 to 5 wich will be the next victim by replacing the 70CC 3W
petrol with a Wren Turboprop

reg Sandor
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 08:22 AM
  #21  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Originally posted by Coulter_Dean
Uh oh.... I want one....

well if you need any info let me now

i live in holland so you can imagine my travels
to Engeland to get all done
but hey! this is what i work for.....
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 04:31 PM
  #22  
Traxxas_Tech
Senior Member
My Feedback: (22)
 
Traxxas_Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 753
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

I'd have already made one by now, but....you see.....there must be these holes in my pockets....where all my money dissapears.... I dont know where it goes! Someday though....
Traxxas_Tech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 04:45 PM
  #23  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

Originally posted by Coulter_Dean
I'd have already made one by now, but....you see.....there must be these holes in my pockets....where all my money dissapears.... I dont know where it goes! Someday though....
aks the wife she nows where it all goes at least mine does

in the beginning i though she wont see the difference between any model plane
however now she sees the difference between the wren 54 and the wren turboprop
now thats scary!

a tip: if your wife ask,s how much did it cost?
answer : just tell here the taxes ;-) you told the thruth and sounds better

reg Happy weekend
im off flying
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 08:44 PM
  #24  
Cody-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Turbo Raven.

How long does it take for the engine to spool up? Like, from idle to full power?
Cody-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 05:57 AM
  #25  
shockwave
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pacifica , CA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Raven

Hello Sandor,

Nice model of the Raven, Hats off to you for putting the turbine in and getting it flying :thumbup: . What kind of lag time are you getting with spool up. Reason I ask is that I have been working on a way to maintain a specified Rpm say 130K then control the prop pitch which should dramatically improve the lag time. Hopefully this will allow for true 3D flight.

Is the Ati kit built up or fiberglass?

Take Care

David.
shockwave is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service