IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

35% edge for IMAC?

Reply

Old 01-23-2003, 03:22 AM
  #1  
rcflyer86
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: TN
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

Hey guys. I think I asked this before a while back, but I dont remember getting a good answer. Anyway here goes: My Carden 35% edge will be ready this summer God willing. Will it be a good IMAC ship? I am more into 3D myself, but I plan on doin the sportsman IMAC at some point.
Thanks!
rcflyer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 06:12 AM
  #2  
ramrod
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Whitehall, PA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Edge for IMAC !!!!

Hello RCFlyer86, pls look under the 3D postings we have of FUN with AW Edge. The Edge is a great plane for both IMAC and 3D ! I think it excells in 3D , but it is still a real good IMAC plane !
Some of the Extras may be a bit better , but not that much. Our Son Chris (14) won the Sportsman IMAC NE Regional Championship with it and also a good Free Style meet too.
We both like the plane a lot , I think it would do fine even in Unlimited in good hands ! Go for it and have FUN !! Rod & Chris in PA.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	49547_800.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	25.6 KB
ID:	30505  
ramrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 06:30 AM
  #3  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

There are people competing with just about everything, and you have one of the best setups out there. Just learn to fly the sequences. You don't have to have a 35% to be competitive. The plane doesn't make the pilot.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 12:26 AM
  #4  
rcflyer86
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: TN
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

I didn't buy the 35% for IMAC, I bought the 35% for giant scale 3D. Shoot, I have flown the sequenses with my profile.
rcflyer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 01:15 AM
  #5  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

You have just answered your own question.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 03:34 AM
  #6  
rcflyer86
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: TN
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

The only reason I ask is because people say the edge won't stall correctly and you have to "fake stall" it and you get points off for it.
rcflyer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 05:27 AM
  #7  
Shortman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 5,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

I've heard the 35% Carden Edge as one of the best flying planes out there!
Shortman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 10:09 AM
  #8  
Divesplat
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 594
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

I had an AW 36%Edge that would elevator down if I allowed it to.

You're talking about the spin, which is only 1 manuever of many. The trick here is to realize every plane stalls at different speeds which, when interpreted correctly DOES NOT mean stopped, but rather, out of fly, if you get the point. When a plane begins to simply fall(elevator) it is stalled.

the trick with an Edge is when this condition occurs, either gently bump a little down or simply let go of the up elevator and the nose should fall, hence, the plane was stalled(ran out of fly) even if moving forward, the break comes when you let go of the elev or gently bump a little down. As the nose falls and "breaks" you begin the spin and required number of rotations.

With my extras the plane will stall, and then the nose will fall or "break" without the additional input.

Remember though, this is only 1 manuever of the sequence, but zero's are ugly also.

Sadly, the entry to spins will be argued till the late hours of the night, without total agreement to it. Best thing is to watch others, ask questions and if possible get advice from local pilots currently flying IMAC or for that matter, Pattern as the requirements are the same and the downgrades are also(except IMAC is a little harsher on deviation)

Ed
Divesplat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 04:53 PM
  #9  
rcflyer86
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: TN
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 35% edge for IMAC?

How did you like that AW 36%? I had one on order, but I canceled my order before it even shipped because I saw a Carden fly and decided I wanted that. They sent it anyway so I had to send it back. I hear from some people that the fly great, and from others that they fly like crap. How did you like yours?
rcflyer86 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy