Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > IMAC
Reload this Page >

Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Reply

Old 01-28-2003, 11:36 AM
  #1  
Red7fifty
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Hey people,
I was wondering if anyone has put the Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd scale together. My question is which size Tru-Turn spinner gives the best fit. I was about to order the Tru-turn TT-4052-B-M-3W, which is cut for the Menz prop and drilled for a DA-100, measures 4 inch on the backplate. While I was on Chiefaircrafts' site, I found they had a listing with 4 1/4 inch spinner #TT-4252-B-M that says it fits the Cap and Extra. Tru-turn has a menz cut of this spinner also. The pictures on the box of my Extra show a gap/ridge between the spinner and the top of the cowl.....I don't want my plane to look like that, I want it to be flush. Anyone know the answer?
Thanks
Ernie
Red7fifty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 01:36 PM
  #2  
Hubb
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

I used a 4 1/4" Dave Brown on mine when I had it.

the spinner was cut for a 3 blade Mezlik 24x12 and fit perfectly. the back plate was the correct size for the cowl at 4 1/4", I think 4 1/2 might be a bit big, not sure.

I don't concearn myself with getting the "perfect" fit to the cowl. once you fly the plane you may need to make thrust angle corrections during trimming so a little gap is needed.

Hubb
Hubb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 07:46 PM
  #3  
Red7fifty
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Hubb,
Thanks for your reply. Yeah, at a hundred bucks a pop, I want to make sure that the top of the backplate and the front/top of the cowl line up, and I know to leave some room at the sides for thrust adjustments. Did yours need any? Then again, I will be running a 27-10 2 blade versus the 3 blade you were running. My experiences have been bigger props seem to need a bit more thrust offset. Thanks for your feedback.
Ernie
Red7fifty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 08:25 PM
  #4  
Traxxas_Tech
Senior Member
My Feedback: (22)
 
Traxxas_Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 753
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Shoot, For $85 you can get a Carbon fiber Spinner from www.petemodel.com. I put their 4.25" Bullet style spinner with lightened backplate on my H9 330L, it looks very nice, and it weighs less than half of the Tru-Turn.

Some food for thought....
Traxxas_Tech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 10:30 PM
  #5  
flquintal
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spinner for H9 Extra

I'm using a 3 1/2 spinner on my Extra 330L.
I don't think it will need a 4" one...

[]s
Fábio Quintal
flquintal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:54 AM
  #6  
FlintFlyer-VP
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
FlintFlyer-VP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cordele, GA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner for H9 Extra

Here is a pic of mine with a 4" Vortech, seems like it was about $40 bucks.
Anybody else out there with a Fuji BT-86 in theirs?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84077.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	200.0 KB
ID:	90757  
FlintFlyer-VP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:28 PM
  #7  
SLINGSHOT-RCU
Senior Member
 
SLINGSHOT-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Timmonsville, SC
Posts: 690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner for H9 Extra

the 4" fits the coul the best.
SLINGSHOT-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:32 PM
  #8  
SLINGSHOT-RCU
Senior Member
 
SLINGSHOT-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Timmonsville, SC
Posts: 690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner for H9 Extra

How does the fuji pull the extra? i had a fuji50 on a GP1/4 extra, it was a good eng. very strong.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71850.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	90809  
SLINGSHOT-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:39 PM
  #9  
FlintFlyer-VP
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
FlintFlyer-VP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cordele, GA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner for H9 Extra

Don't know yet. I just mounted the engine last night. This plane has never left the ground yet.
I hope to run it this weekend, but I still need to get the radio equipment installed.

Would it be better to run two Futaba PCM receivers and split the control surfaces, or use one receiver and two batteries? I haven't decided which way to go yet. I have both receivers and both batteries already.
FlintFlyer-VP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:48 PM
  #10  
SLINGSHOT-RCU
Senior Member
 
SLINGSHOT-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Timmonsville, SC
Posts: 690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner for H9 Extra

you can run two rec, but i only have one in my hanger 9 sukhoi. 2 batts. we have a 40% cap that has two recs in it. i havent flown my extra yet . i have a FPE 5.8 95cc to go on it.
SLINGSHOT-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 12:02 AM
  #11  
flquintal
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Wow, it's been a while since I last saw this thread
I'm posting a front-shot of mine Extra (using a 3,5" spinner)

By the way, I put in a 3W 106 (I wanted more power than 3W 85) -- and well... Just forged the weight and go fly

See ya
Fábio Q.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87923.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	91645  
flquintal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 05:33 PM
  #12  
mAvRiCk-inactive
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East Longmeadow, MA
Posts: 1,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Spinner for Hangar 9 Extra 330L 1/3rd????

Now that is what all MEN sohlu dget

3WWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

YES

DAN
mAvRiCk-inactive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 12:44 PM
  #13  
flquintal
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3W 106

Yeah! The heavy Extra got WAAAAAY 'OVERPOWERED' :P

I'm crazy to test my 150QS
flquintal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 01:56 PM
  #14  
Red7fifty
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3W 106

Went with the 4" afterall.....although the 4 1/4 would have fit better....here is a shot.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16066.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	92212  
Red7fifty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 01:59 PM
  #15  
FlintFlyer-VP
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
FlintFlyer-VP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cordele, GA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3W 106

I like the 4" spinner. So how far are you from takeoff?
I have a few more nights on mine...[&o]
FlintFlyer-VP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 03:06 PM
  #16  
flquintal
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner

Very well, I liked it too...
So, is there a gap between the wing and fuselage on your Extra?
There was a nasty hole on mine
flquintal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:32 PM
  #17  
Red7fifty
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner

No gaps along the wing and fuse joint, did have some loose stringers along the bottom of the fuse that needed some glue.
It's been 99.9% done for about 5 months......just haven't put any effort into mounting 3 switches, 1 ign battery, and balancing the prop. Should be in the air shortly.
Red7fifty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:39 PM
  #18  
FlintFlyer-VP
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
FlintFlyer-VP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cordele, GA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spinner

Hey flquintal

My wings fit the fuse pretty snug on each side. Our club president had one with a good
1/8" gap on one side.
FlintFlyer-VP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 04:45 PM
  #19  
flquintal
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing fitting

Yeah, I think I got a bad kit [:'(]

Anyway, it flies very well...
Just needs a better pilot
flquintal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 04:34 AM
  #20  
johan_torssell
Member
 
johan_torssell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing fitting

flquintal,

I am building an Extra an thought of using the same color scheme as yours.

What does the belly and wing bottom look like?

/Johan
johan_torssell is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service