Difference between IMAC and Pattern

Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Difference between IMAC and Pattern

Old 08-22-2007, 06:04 PM
darylm44

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference between IMAC and Pattern

I am new to the hobby and am having a difficult time finding information that explains the difference between IMAC and Pattern flying. I have probably just missed it but a quick short description of each would be helpful.
Old 08-22-2007, 09:50 PM
DRC1
My Feedback: (10)

Default RE: Difference between IMAC and Pattern

I'll take a quick stab at it...

The main difference is in the upper classes.

In Basic (IMAC) or Sportsman (NSRCA or Pattern) you can fly any plane that is AMA legal. So the difference for the newbies is very minor and is seen in the sequences and the box (Manuevering area). Now this is a very minor difference as the same maneuvers are flown in both IMAC and Pattern.

At the second level Sportsman (IMAC) and Intermediate (NSRCA-Pattern) it starts to become different. The game is still similar in that you fly the plane through a series of sequences and you are judged on how well you perform them. Here are some of the differences. The higher you go in each class the more challenging the sequences. The basic set of rules apply to all classes.

Here are the main difference:

Planes...
IMAC - Any plane that represent a competition full scale aerobatic plane within 10% scale. Weight must be within AMA rules. IMAC planes normally have some level of coupling in control surfaces because of the design requirements. I believe some designs are getting close to purpose built Pattern planes.