Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

RHINO fLAME OUT

Reply

Old 11-06-2011, 02:02 PM
  #1  
BillJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
BillJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fries, VA
Posts: 474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RHINO fLAME OUT

Have just bought a plane with a Rhino... Have no problem with starts... but engine will flame out (with smoke) taxiing out....Can find no air leaks at uat and actually we set the plane on a test stand and ran it at various throttle settings for 4 + MINS...SHAKING THE CRAP OUT OF IT...still ran great... Put the plane on the ground and taxi out (grass runway) and it flames out in about 45 seconds...
Going to change the fuel line between turbine and cut off valve.

Does anyone have a thought ?... All lines are wired..See nothing but fuel in lines up front . Changed the Throttle curve settings... Reload transmitter several times... Flames out reading 17000rpm 434 degrees C....
BillJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:05 PM
  #2  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RHINO fLAME OUT

Bill J:

Charley is waiting for your call so the two of you can get together. . .I will stand by for any parts which may be needed

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:24 AM
  #3  
BillJ
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
BillJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fries, VA
Posts: 474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RHINO fLAME OUT

Don't ask me what we did except venting each tank individually.... Ran like a charm yesterday... Wish we had some pics of Charlie chasing me around the sky with his Eurosport... Almost had a couple of Blue Angel moments... Although Charlie kept smokin me down the front straight... I told him if he kept that up I'd have to wedge a bigger engine in.......LOL

Thanks Eric
BillJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 06:14 PM
  #4  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RHINO fLAME OUT

Have you tried range checking maybe a signal problem?
FenderBean is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:27 PM
  #5  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RHINO fLAME OUT

Good thinking. . .however, if a range issue (loss of signal) the error code will be" Rx signal lost or Fail Safe." Such was not the case with this turbine.

Two heads are better than one which seems to have sorted out the issue.

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service