Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Rabbit KS Igniter voltage..

Reply

Old 05-04-2012, 01:48 PM
  #1  
Sparhawk
Thread Starter
 
Sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Truro, NS, CANADA
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rabbit KS Igniter voltage..

Got a new Rabbit KS that is giving me some startup grief and the not so wanted "pump limit reached" error message when I finally get a start. Working with Eric to sort it out, but in the meantime, what is the typical igniter voltage set at?
Using a 3 cell LiFe pack, and have switched it over to 2 cell LiPo during my fault finding sessions (no change) and I see the igniter voltage at 5.4v. Is this typical?

Dan

Sparhawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:15 PM
  #2  
monjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mexico, MEXICO
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit KS Igniter voltage..

Hello Sparhawk
The newest igniters are rated for 5-6v so 5.4 is normal
Previous igniters were 6-7v and normal setting was 6.5v
Regards
monjet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:09 AM
  #3  
Sparhawk
Thread Starter
 
Sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Truro, NS, CANADA
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit KS Igniter voltage..

Thanks Juan.

My Rabbit is heading to Kerry to have a look it. Ithink Ihave a couple issues, and one is a pump that is maybe too tight and needs a breakin, so that the ECU doesn't have to work so hard to pump fuel. The other looks like the setting for burner fuel, and it is just low enough that it is 50/50 on whether it will jump toSwitchover mode. Kerry may need to unlock it and turn up the flow rate a little, as there is just not enough to keep the burner lit.

Love the Rabbit and can't wait to have it back.

Dan
Sparhawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:50 PM
  #4  
rcand
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coral springs, FL
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit KS Igniter voltage..


ORIGINAL: Sparhawk

Thanks Juan.

My Rabbit is heading to Kerry to have a look it. I think I have a couple issues, and one is a pump that is maybe too tight and needs a breakin, so that the ECU doesn't have to work so hard to pump fuel. The other looks like the setting for burner fuel, and it is just low enough that it is 50/50 on whether it will jump to Switchover mode. Kerry may need to unlock it and turn up the flow rate a little, as there is just not enough to keep the burner lit.

Love the Rabbit and can't wait to have it back.

Dan
I bumped up the pump setting for the burner, just a few points. I got a better start and switch over. Be careful not to increase too much as you don't want flames on the start. Check the manual on how to do this. Also and very important is to make sure your battery is fully charged. Aslo, check with Eric for advise.
rcand is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service