Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Rabbit 100 battery

Reply

Old 06-27-2012, 07:17 AM
  #1  
essyou35
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rabbit 100 battery

I have a new rabbit 100, comes with a 3s LIFE pack. Can I use a High C 2S Lipo instead and still do kero start or will it have issues?

I only have on one 3s LIFE and I have many 2s LIPOs. Will a 2s Lipo put out enough Volts to not cause hot starts etc and be ok for the pump and ECU?

Thx.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:47 AM
  #2  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

essyou35:

Your question is a good one. In our manual, there is reference to setting up the battery. Your ECU should be the new V10 with black plastic case. If so, you may select the battery choice within the START menu. Battery options are 7.4v LiIon/LiPo/Limag or 9.9v LiFe or A123 type batteries. Please reference your manual for the correct procedure to change battery type used. 2s LiPo is only capable of putting out 7.4 volts so your concern of a hot start is unnecessary. Hot starts are a result of excess fuel in the combustion chamber due to over priming or repeat failed starts due to improper set up. If you think you have excess fuel in the turibine, stand the turbine with starter motor facing DOWN to drain.

Selecting a 2s or 2s2p LiPo is perfectly acceptable. We suggest at least 3000mAh with a minimum of 25C rating for optimum performance.

Please for verification, email me ( jetartessales@aol.com) your Rabbit 100 serial number for verification of supplied ECU .

Thank you,
Eric

BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:37 AM
  #3  
essyou35
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

Ok thank you, I just read on TBM that they say a 2s lipo for kero start has issues and to use a 3s LIFE. It pertains to the K80 but wanted to ensure the same is not true of the rabbit.

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/blog/tag/turbines/
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:41 AM
  #4  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

essyou35:

Always, ALWAYS check with the manufacturer for the correct information. TBM is a good source for information however, it sometimes can be wrong.

The info I presented you is true, tested and we know it works.

Still waiting for your serial number !!

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:44 AM
  #5  
essyou35
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

Will send you the serial number when I get home, I will be using a 2s Lipo then and will set the ECU accordingly.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 03:43 AM
  #6  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

serial number . . .??
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 06:24 AM
  #7  
essyou35
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,708
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

OH I didnt end up using a 2s lipo, I use the supplied lipo which is a 3s LIFE.

Serial is vt100-280. I just realized that I need to send in warranty sheet, I thought it was automatically included.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:19 PM
  #8  
MP3_tilaco
Senior Member
 
MP3_tilaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 293
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

I have a question about my LIFE battery, I bought this turbine but I'd like to buy other battery but I'd like to know about the discharge C's, Hyperion have 2.1 Amp but 5C (10.5 Amp max).
MP3_tilaco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:45 PM
  #9  
rcand
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coral springs, FL
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery


ORIGINAL: MP3_tilaco

I have a question about my LIFE battery, I bought this turbine but I'd like to buy other battery but I'd like to know about the discharge C's, Hyperion have 2.1 Amp but 5C (10.5 Amp max).
I also have the Rabbot 100. The Life battery should have a label on it. Mine was supplied by Duralite which is a 2100ma. I looked on their site and it has a 20C discharge capacity. I would not recommend any battery with less than that and would advise following your manual or contacting Eric Clapp for advise.
rcand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 01:56 PM
  #10  
rcand
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coral springs, FL
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery


ORIGINAL: essyou35

Ok thank you, I just read on TBM that they say a 2s lipo for kero start has issues and to use a 3s LIFE. It pertains to the K80 but wanted to ensure the same is not true of the rabbit.

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/blog/tag/turbines/
This is NOT the case for the Jet Central engines and I prefer the 2 cell lipo over the Life for my Rabbit 100.
rcand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:34 AM
  #11  
osvaldopv
My Feedback: (12)
 
osvaldopv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dorado, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rabbit 100 battery

How long does the stock battery will last , 3 to 4 flights?
osvaldopv is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service