Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Cheetah problems on starting

Reply

Old 09-17-2012, 07:14 AM
  #1  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cheetah problems on starting

Two weeks ago I flamed out from low fuel- air in lines after a second missed approach. When I next tried to start on Saturday as I went through the start sequence I primed the lines , the fuel pump worked fine but the start sequence aborted from no fuel as I had an air bubble that hadn't cleared yet.. After I got the fuel lines primed and tried starting again the starter wouldn't spool. I borrowed a started from Gunradd and it would now spool but the fuel pump now wouldn't kick in. I replaced the original started and it now spooled the turbine, but still no fuel pump kicking in.
I checked with the GSU and the pump will run in the prime mode and all the GSU says is 'badstart'.
Is this a ECU problem?
John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:08 AM
  #2  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

jphn491

1. I am just down the road in Sarasota County
2. START BAD can only be one of 4 things:
a. no RPM reading
b. no TEMP reading
c. RPM not reaching 3000 during start sequence
d. ECU battery too low in V - recharge

3. Fuel Pump does not "simply" kick in. During the start sequence, the pump runs very slow which is almost impossible to detect as it sends fuel to the burner inside the combustion chamber. At SwitchOver, the fuel pump begins a more aggressive feeding of fuel then at fuel ramp, again, more aggressive. It simply does not run fast as it does in "Test fuel pump / caution prime" mode.

Please check all connectors for correct continuity and verify you have temp, rpm readings when you initiate the start sequence

Regards,
Eric Clapp
Managing Director


BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 02:03 PM
  #3  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Eric,

I used a fully charged 2s lipo to test just now. I have temp reading and the rpm changes, at least when the starter is turning. I made two attempts at start and the rpm only got to 1800 then 'badstart'. Tried cooling with stick up and only got 1800. Third start attempt starter does nothing , rpm on monitor shows 2700rpm and the starter isn't moving.
Sounds like I'm for sure not getting to 3000 rpm, but I don't believe it's the battery. Could the starter be bad? It was doing the same thing with the spare starter I borrowed from Gunradd, unless it also is bad.

John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:14 AM
  #4  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Yes, the starter may be defective. When you perform the TEST STARTER function which is within the INFO section, what is the result.

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 01:00 PM
  #5  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Eric,

Test starter in the info submenu does nothing. Temp probe says 23 deg. Just plugging in the handset says that the starter is doing 2700 rpm and nothing is moving.
Mystified.

Thanks,

John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:49 AM
  #6  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

New starter on it's way. . .

RPM jumping (moving) all over the scale is NORMAL when system is turned on BUT no start sequence has commenced

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:06 PM
  #7  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Good news today.

Eric sent me a replacement starter and now the turbine starts. Started it twice to make sure and it's all happy now.

Thanks Eric.

John Green
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:11 AM
  #8  
gunradd
My Feedback: (9)
 
gunradd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springhill, FL
Posts: 3,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Thats great news John! BTW last weekend my starter failed I replaced it with the spare that I let you use so I hope it works. I did not try a start yet but did make sure it rotates with starter test.
gunradd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:50 AM
  #9  
john491
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, FL,
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cheetah problems on starting

Chris,
Thanks. I hope yours works. Best not to make my mistake though, go outside and start it up. The starter has to get over 3000 rpm to initiate the sequence and we weren't getting there two weeks ago.
I really want you to see the Panther fly so I may have to come back up there. It accelerates from a dead stop like it's on a catapult.

John
john491 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service