Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Battery Overvoltage

Reply

Old 02-15-2015, 07:48 PM
  #1  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Overvoltage

0.9V,

I have taken my VT90 out of storage after more than a year. Lubed it, set it up and attempted a bench run.
I am using the A123 LiFe battery provided by Jet Central, same one I was using prior to storage.

During startup I kept getting battery overvoltage, which was odd because on the ECU Pb=9.9-10V. The battery seemed fine. I discharged the battery for an hour, and the ECU was reading Pb=9.8V and it would not fire up. Same overvoltage message.

So I tried a 7.4V Lipo from another engine and it worked good. Engine ran fine.

Is there an adjustable ECU battery voltage parameter I can adjust or is there something else hosed up?

Thanks,
David
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 11:07 AM
  #2  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

David:

The 9.9LIFe battery requires the V10 ECU. You did not say which ECU you have. In the START menu, there is a parameter for setting igniter voltage (Glow Plug) and low battery voltage. Additionally, you must SET in the START menu the type battery you are using. If not set correctly, you will experience a repeat of your last experience.

Regards,
Eric
BluFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 12:12 PM
  #3  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Eric not sure what version my ECU is, but I assume V10 since it was upgraded to LiFe battery in Mx. It must have reset itself during storage. I will try to set the parameters tonight when I get home.
Thanks,
David
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 04:34 PM
  #4  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

David,

check the the data on the ECU it should tell you what typ of battery is programmed to.
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 04:48 PM
  #5  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello David
As Jose said
Look for the battery type at the start menu
If the fail persists, check that the battery voltage is not above than 10.4 v
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 05:26 PM
  #6  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Saludos Juan!

ECU is V6.16T. I could not find a battery selection parameter. I have been using LiFe for a while now. The battery was supplied after servicing a couple of years ago. It is showing 9.9V flat.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 07:23 AM
  #7  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG5277.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	412.0 KB
ID:	2074008  
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:40 PM
  #8  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hola David
I see the problem now, looking at your HDT I see that your ECU is aluminum case and they does ones can not handle 9.9V
Please tell me your serial number to see why we didn't replaced it
Sorry for the trouble
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 01:41 PM
  #9  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Juan, I dug through my old email and found some history.

I purchased this battery from you a couple of services ago, and I was sent the wrong one. I was supposed to send it back for replacement but it seems I just purchased another one locally and never actually returned it. That's why I have a Jet Central 9.9V battery!

I am glad because I was really wondering what could have happened, as the engine runs fine on 7.4V.

thanks, and sorry for the confusion!

David
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 05:10 PM
  #10  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FalconWings View Post
Juan, I dug through my old email and found some history.

I purchased this battery from you a couple of services ago, and I was sent the wrong one. I was supposed to send it back for replacement but it seems I just purchased another one locally and never actually returned it. That's why I have a Jet Central 9.9V battery!

I am glad because I was really wondering what could have happened, as the engine runs fine on 7.4V.

thanks, and sorry for the confusion!

David
Hi David,

great im happy you were able to figure it out. Please feel free to give me a call if needed.

321-412-3078
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service