Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Fast Idling Rabbit

Reply

Old 07-12-2015, 07:53 AM
  #1  
turnnburn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (49)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fast Idling Rabbit

I have a Power Pack non SP version of Rabbit. My engine tends to idle 5 to 10k fast, especailly upon lading at the end of a flight. What can I do to get it to idle at the 42k that the ECU is set for ?
turnnburn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 11:31 AM
  #2  
noahb
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you have not already done so, relearn the throttle. Ensure you have full throttle and idle. Not sure if this will help
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 04:35 PM
  #3  
turnnburn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (49)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, I have tried that.
turnnburn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:19 PM
  #4  
M3Baker
 
M3Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Start your turbine. Slowly advance to full throttle. Then come down about three clicks at a time on your throttle stick waiting three to four seconds each time all the way to idle. If this does not bring you down to normal idle speed (around 42K), you may have some type of fuel restriction which will be indicated by high PW. If you're 350-400 PW at full power, that is around normal. Anything much higher is an indication of fuel restriction, ie improper venting or some other type of fuel restriction. 70-90 PW at idle is also normal PW.
Is this a new problem?
Feel free to answer on this thread or PM me if you want.
If we can't get this fixed here, we may ask you to send it to Jose for a quick check up. He can unlock the ECU and look a little deeper.
Let me know.
Thank you for your business, we appreciate that you have chosen Jet Central Turbines. We'll get this fixed.

Last edited by M3Baker; 07-13-2015 at 06:23 PM.
M3Baker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:26 PM
  #5  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 6,458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

it does sound like a throttle learn issue, had this on a rhino years back. Also are you running a linear curve in your radio?
FenderBean is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 08:35 AM
  #6  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is your trim mechanical or digital?
Mechanical trims are less precise and tend to do that, if that is the case, lower the trim one click when it is high idling and see if it gets back to normal.
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 04:33 PM
  #7  
turnnburn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (49)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Do you mind if I ask who you are and what is your relationship to Jet Central ? I will give your suggestion a try in the next few days. I am asking the gentleman from Lexana Kansas.
turnnburn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 04:57 PM
  #8  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

..

Last edited by jetmon; 07-15-2015 at 05:01 PM.
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 05:00 PM
  #9  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

..
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 05:42 PM
  #10  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by turnnburn View Post
Do you mind if I ask who you are and what is your relationship to Jet Central ? I will give your suggestion a try in the next few days. I am asking the gentleman from Lexana Kansas.
Hello,

The gentelman from Kansas is Paul Frankum who is a field rep for JCT. All field reps and pilots will have the same knowledge and advice. Paul did call me about this and since I was on the road from JOK I told him what to post as he is still learning all the in and outs. Paul is a great person and monitors this furom much more than I do so he always lets me know of anything that comes up.

I have posted online here that for any issues the best thing to do is give me a call or email. My phone number is 321-412-3078 my email is rcjets12@hotmail.com if its after hours I will return the call the following day.
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 06:00 PM
  #11  
M3Baker
 
M3Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by turnnburn View Post
Do you mind if I ask who you are and what is your relationship to Jet Central ? I will give your suggestion a try in the next few days. I am asking the gentleman from Lexana Kansas.
Turnburn,
Hope Jose answered you question. My goal is to help Jet Central owners enjoy their turbines. There are technical aspects that I am still learning, but rest assured I have experience with this product.
Paul
M3Baker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:29 AM
  #12  
turnnburn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (49)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Paul. Thanks for the info. It appears that I may have solved my rather minor idle issue. I first of all tried running my mechanical throttle trim downward and found that when it was at the halfway down or middle detent that the engine idle slowed to 42 k or very very close to 42k. But I also found that the first couple of small advances of the throttle stick had little or no effect and if I went so much as one click past the midway trim position the engine shutdown. For both of these reasons I deemed this an unacceptable solution. I then tried what you suggested running the throttle slowly to full power and then retarding power one or two clicks at a time all the way back to idle. This was no help, I didnt see any change whatsoever. I then did a new teach and the throttle up and down slowly like you suggested with still no help. I then realized that I had the "linear" throttle curve selected and after I reread what that meant I decided that I did not want linear so I switched to "Full Expo". I then did two engine runs on the driveway at home and both times the idle was at or very very close to 42k once the engine settled all the way down to its stable idle. I may at some point try "Half Expo" but for now I will fly in "Full Expo".
turnnburn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:00 PM
  #13  
M3Baker
 
M3Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the follow up. This did not occur to me. I also have always used expo on my throttle. Glad you're up and running now.
M3Baker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 08:27 AM
  #14  
turnnburn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (49)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

But why is this the case ? It seems to me that no matter which throttle program is selected that stick down and trim up should be idle and idle for this engine is 42,000. Like I said I could get a 42k idle with trim half way down. Is this really how this is supposed to work ?
turnnburn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:49 AM
  #15  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by turnnburn View Post
But why is this the case ? It seems to me that no matter which throttle program is selected that stick down and trim up should be idle and idle for this engine is 42,000. Like I said I could get a 42k idle with trim half way down. Is this really how this is supposed to work ?
Hello,

if if you can please give me a call as it is much easier to explain over the phone.

321-412-3078
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service