Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Delayed Start VT-90

Reply

Old 07-20-2015, 09:59 AM
  #1  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Delayed Start VT-90

Hi, I am having a problem which is not really a problem but a niusance.

My Rabbit takes a good minute to start. Burner goes on but it seems it have a problem hating up. During the first 40 seconds of heating up with the engine at low start speed, I see very little fuel going into the burner (and none to the combustor). Then all of a sudden fuel begins to flow to the burner and the rest is a normal spool up toe ngine idle. Engine does not ever abort start, it just takes a while.

Could it be a bad glow plug solenoid not letting enough fuel through?

Once engine starts it is business as usual.

thanks,
David
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 03:03 PM
  #2  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hola David
It takes a while because it needs to increase temperature faster
Try to increase a couple of points to the value of "Pump Power Ig. K" in the start menu
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 06:13 AM
  #3  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Gracias Juan......lo tratare!
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:50 AM
  #4  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FalconWings View Post
Gracias Juan......lo tratare!
I can help with your start up to make it faster please call me at 321-412-3078
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 03:56 PM
  #5  
tshah
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have issu with my rabbit, it try to start ok but as soon it comes up to speed and it says switching over that's when it just cuts the fuel and starter keep turning the engines till I kill. No massages.
tshah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 12:00 PM
  #6  
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)
 
rcjets12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palm Bay , FL
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Tshah

i will need more info but you can start by increasing the PW Ignition K by 2 points at a time be careful as this will increase the fuel amount. I will be back in the the States on Tuesday and you can call me then.
rcjets12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:28 PM
  #7  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok I tried increasing pump power ign k from 36 incrementally to 48. It didnt help much, but I did notice a lot of flames in the back.

Anything else I should try? Once is starts it runs fine.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 07:57 AM
  #8  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

bump.....otherwise the drama on the the thread above will pervail.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 05:16 AM
  #9  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Falcon
Please call jose to instruc you to unlook the ECU, so we can encrease the Fuel Ramp setting
In the mid time return your pump power to original setting to get rid of the flames
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 06:53 AM
  #10  
FalconWings
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Gracias Juan, will do.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 07:13 AM
  #11  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hola David, Hector here. You said VT90, that's a Merlin. Yours is a Rabbit.

Hector
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 08:58 AM
  #12  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by E.N.T. View Post
Hola David, Hector here. You said VT90, that's a Merlin. Yours is a Rabbit.

Hector
Hola Hector
Nop. VT90 and VT100 are Rabbits, the merlin VT80 came out a couple of years later
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 12:43 PM
  #13  
E.N.T.
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi, Juan, you were right. Sorry.
I have the VT-80. Merlin.

Hector
E.N.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service