Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Cheetah pump value

Old 11-24-2015, 08:51 PM
DHC6
My Feedback: (6)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cheetah pump value

This is my first turbine so I am still learning what's "normal" and what's not.

I was was just going through my last flight log and was curious what a normal range should be for pump value, and wondering what it's actually measuring?
Old 11-25-2015, 07:27 PM
rcjets12
My Feedback: (21)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Originally Posted by DHC6 View Post
This is my first turbine so I am still learning what's "normal" and what's not.

I was was just going through my last flight log and was curious what a normal range should be for pump value, and wondering what it's actually measuring?
For a Cheetah at full throttle it can be between 350 to 600. The lower the better and it depends a lot on your fuel line and any possible restrictions you may have in your fuel system. I like to see mine in the 400 to 550 on a cheetah. But small fuel line, some filters and your fuel vents can cause a higher value. Also if you reach the pump limit you can flame out so make sure that you go to full throttle on the ground and see what your value is.

So so many of us don't even test to make sure that we get full throttle before we take off which I always do just to make sure it's all good as you never know when your filter can be clogged or anything else that could have caused an issue. I'm old school and always look at what my engine is doing before takeoff.
Old 11-26-2015, 07:33 AM
DHC6

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I always do a full power run up to make sure I get full power/RPM, however being new to turbines I am unsure of what's normal for some other values.