Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

5 blade PC-21 prop with JetCentral Turboprop

Reply

Old 02-27-2017, 05:08 PM
  #1  
ltc
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,063
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 5 blade PC-21 prop with JetCentral Turboprop

Hello,
Can anyone from JetCentral tell me if the current turboprop (based on Bee II) or the new/upcoming turboprop SE version is compatible with the 5 blade prop for the Spymaster PC-21?
http://www.skymasterjet.com/pc21.htm
5 blades for K-60TP to SPT-10 / $ 335.00 USD (painted)
http://www.chiefaircraft.com/sky-pc-21-prop.html
[h=1]Skymaster 24x23.5 Wood Turboprop 5-Blade Propeller[/h]In Stock
Item: SKY PC-21 PROP

It seems like every Skymaster PC-21 is powered by Kingtech or JetCat turboprop.
Is this prop OK to use on the JetCentral TP?

The manual mentions only 2 or 3 blade props

Thanks
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:02 AM
  #2  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Itc
I don't recommend it, it is a very heavy (draggy) prop with too much pitch that will only make it to run hotter
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:45 AM
  #3  
ltc
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,063
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you Juan
Would this other 5 blade prop be acceptable for the JetCentral Turboprop?
http://www.chiefaircraft.com/bla-23x14-tp-5.html
24x13 5 blade (pitch reduced from 23.5 to 13; same diameter)

I am still trying to understand why the Kingtech 60 and JetCat SPT5 can run the higher pitch props, as those 2 engines seem similar to the JetCentral in terms of output power.
Perhaps they too are overheating or have different design?

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 11:21 AM
  #4  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We have use the 5 blade 23.5/24 and had flown with it, but it simply does not perform better, on the contrary, it flys slower and with less power than a recommended prop
I dont have experience with the K60 but some friends that have the STP5 had similar results
The 5 blade props that you are sugesting look very good to me, specially the 23/14
Sorry for my spanglish
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 01:57 PM
  #5  
ltc
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,063
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Juan,
Thank you again for your assistance.
I think the best thing to do will be to buy both a 3 blade 24x12 and the 5 blade 23 x 14 and compare rpm and temperatures on ground and in the air. I fly Jeti radio, so I can have full telemetry and even add an optical RPM sensor to the nose to measure prop RPM if needed.

Do you know when the JetCentral Turboprop will switch from the old Xicoy ECU and pump/valves to the new SE electronics and turbine?
I believe that you are not going to use the SP Powerpack on the Turboprop and just go right to SE.

Regards
Lewis
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 04:18 PM
  #6  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

All new Turboprops already have the new power pack SE system
When did you buy yours?
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 05:03 PM
  #7  
ltc
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,063
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Right about the same time the SE was introduced for the gas turbines; the Turboprop was not available as an SE at that time.
I can try and find d the receipt for the exact date; it was shipped directly from JetCentral.

I was curious about the SE Turboprop since I believe it's output power has been increased to 9kw from my non SE 7.5kw.
I didn't know if the SE increased power meant it would drive the high pitch prop or not.

I am not complaining in any way and I'm sorry if it came across that way.
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 05:24 AM
  #8  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Lewis:

Did you ever tried the Biela 23 x 14 ? I'm thinking on buying a PC-21 and installing a Jetcentral Turboprop and I'm starting to investigate about available props.
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 06:25 AM
  #9  
ltc
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mendon, MA
Posts: 1,063
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No, never purchased one, sorry.
ltc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 05:37 PM
  #10  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Juan Ramon:

Any suggestions on a prop for this turbine installed on a Tucano ?

Currently using a 24 x 12 but it might be small for your turbine.
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 11:21 AM
  #11  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Gonzalo
24 X12, 3 blade is ok for our turbine
Regards
jetmon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 12:17 PM
  #12  
Gonzalo38
 
Gonzalo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Juan Ramon..... but since the new Bee II TP has more power than the SPT-5, shouldn't the recommended blade be bigger ? With the 24 x 12, the Tucano is still lacking on power. I think I also have a 24 x 14 or I could buy a bigger blade if needed.
Gonzalo38 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service