Jet Central Turbines - Artes Jet Jet Central Turbines formerly the Artes Jet forum

Is my pump bad?

Reply

Old 06-27-2010, 05:13 PM
  #1  
Edgar Perez
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Is my pump bad?

After ~ about 18 months in storage, i installed my super bee in a plane. Ended up having multiple shutdown due to bubbles. After multiple tries, took out the solenoid, UAT and filters out of the picture. With the main tank ->pump -> turbine, still had shutdowns while in taxi.

What is the best way to check if I have a bad pump?
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 05:22 PM
  #2  
noahb
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my pump bad?

Go to your menu and put the line going to the turbine into a large cup. Using the prime function, it should slowly start out and then go into a nice steady stream.

Where are your airbubbles at, before, after the pump?

If you are getting bubbles not before, but after the pump then I would say you have some type of airleak in the pump.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 06:31 PM
  #3  
Edgar Perez
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (13)
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my pump bad?

In the last try, there was no bubbles before the pump.
My ECU is an old one (AU354), it does not have the test function. The 5 second throttle high prime works ok. The problem is intermittent as it does start, going to max throttle ok.

Attached is the graph and log file from the fadec. The plane was just taxing at low throttle most of the time. It got the speed low shutdown during a turn.

I would like to do a low voltage test of the pump and check consistent flow and no bubbles... not sure what voltages to use... seems to be low.. maybe < 2V
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr54782.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	183.3 KB
ID:	1459303  
Attached Files
File Type: txt
Bz77269.txt (23.0 KB, 14 views)
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 07:05 PM
  #4  
noahb
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my pump bad?

You should be good up to about 6 volts, but no more. However, if you are getting speed low there might be a possibility that it could be your rpm sensor.

My rhino after sitting for about 5-6 months would shut down for no reason...give indication of speed low. Put new rpm sensor in and it has solved it.

Some say you can degauss the sensor, but you would have to search on how to do that.

Hope you find out what's going on.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service