JetCat Turbine Direct Support Ask your JetCat questions here for the experts that know them. MrMatt and Bob Wilcox will field your inquiries.

Can't learn Rc

Reply
Old 12-26-2012, 08:44 PM
  #1
shepp
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can't learn Rc

My New P-70 won't learn rc. It goes to release to learn rc then says move throttle to idle and green light flashes real fast. Can go no further. Any suggestions?

Shepp
shepp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:52 AM
  #2
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

thats not right
it say move trottle trim first
you missed a step
try agian
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:35 AM
  #3
ddennison
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: rochester, MN
Posts: 2,381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Are both the trim and throttle stick at their lowest points?
ddennison is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:52 AM
  #4
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

yes when you start yes
and then go step by step
first its the trim
and then its the throtle stick
i hope you can do something with my info
Regards,
Martin.
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:31 AM
  #5
Greg Wright
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Use the instruction manual it will take you thru the set-up procedure step by step.
Greg Wright is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:38 AM
  #6
shepp
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

according to book, first screen says set throttle to minimum, so I don't think I have missed a step. The trottle and trim are at their lowest setting travels set to 75%. The ecu does not recognize the throttle position and I get a rapidily flashing green light and can go no further. This is not my first Jet Cat I have several others and have never had a problem.
Shepp
shepp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:40 AM
  #7
Greg Wright
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

What brand of radio are you using.
Greg Wright is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:26 AM
  #8
mr_matt
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 9,917
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

I would increase the ATV a bit at a time to see if it takes, maybe on this radio 75% is not enough travel on the low end. You can worry about failsafe after you get it to learn RC.
mr_matt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:31 AM
  #9
Greg Wright
 
Greg Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

I'm thinking that if it is 2.4 Ghz then you might reduce the ATV to 50% on both sides as that is where you have to set JR or Spektrum radios to do the learn RC settings.
Greg Wright is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 12:34 PM
  #10
shepp
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 416
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Thanks guys for your help. I tried everything you suggested, then called Bob lol. The problem is, I am not getting any signal from the reciever. He suggested I try a servo to make sure the reciever/transmitter is working correctly, checked all my connections and now He is pretty sure I have a defective ECU and I am returning it to him. What great guy. On the few issues I have had, Jet Cat has always given great customer service.
thanks again for your help.

Shepp
shepp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 04:09 PM
  #11
rocketman-RCU
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Did you bind the Rx at 150% throttle travel volume?
rocketman-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:08 AM
  #12
chopper52
 
chopper52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

150% is just plain not right!!!!!
chopper52 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:48 AM
  #13
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc


Quote:
ORIGINAL: chopper52

150% is just plain not right!!!!!
yes it is, you bind for failsafe with 150%, reduce to 75% and learn RC works perfect.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:10 PM
  #14
Gixxy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Got a Titan that's recently back from JC doing the same exact thing. Also have a p-160sx and 0 problems doing learn rc on it. But the Titan won't scroll past set throttle to min. Ecu is vs 6.0
Gixxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:44 PM
  #15
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Does the value on the GSU change if you move the throttle stick?
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:14 AM
  #16
Gixxy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

Does the value on the GSU change if you move the throttle stick?
Yes it does.
Gixxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:22 AM
  #17
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

See if you can do the Learn RC with the button on the IO board.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:51 AM
  #18
essyou35
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Stupid thing I did when I switched to futaba, is taht the throttle channel needs to be reversed. Long shot but thought I would throw it out there.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:54 AM
  #19
chopper52
 
chopper52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

Well you can bind at 150% I have never ever bind at that,,,,100 to 100%........Then 50 to 50%.... Turbines are all JetCats,,,,,,Never a problem..... Must be a Futaba radio.....
chopper52 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:20 AM
  #20
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc


Quote:
ORIGINAL: chopper52

Well you can bind at 150% I have never ever bind at that,,,,100 to 100%........Then 50 to 50%.... Turbines are all JetCats,,,,,,Never a problem..... Must be a Futaba radio.....

Binding at 150% and doing the Learn RC at 75% gives higher resolution then the 100/50.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:08 AM
  #21
chopper52
 
chopper52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc

To KC
Well the Jetcat book better be changed then because Thats NOT what the book says,,,,,And Bob at JetCat says;100% to 100% then 50% to 50%....................It depends on what radio you have.....And If your a Rep for them,,,,CALL your boss( Bob) OH by the way 5 years ago it said,150% then 75% ( only futaba ) but not any more.......


JetCat-P-70,P-100....
chopper52 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 11:03 AM
  #22
Thud_Driver
 
Thud_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Victorville, CA,
Posts: 1,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can't learn Rc



I'm with KC on the bind/set failsafe @ -150% but I always use -100% to +100% after that.  Works fine on every radio I've tried and for thousands of runs.



The manual is the result, over the years, of people having trouble getting the failsafe set right, mostly, probably, because folks didn't change the low throttle end point before binding and then found they had to change the range after.  Many newer radios allow you to set the throttle failsafe point in the Tx so you can set it once and forget it.



Thud_Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:38 AM.